Skip to main content

Labor History: Serials

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.

Serials Collection

The Tamiment Library holds approximately 10,000 non-current serials titles and 225 current subscriptions.

The collection includes alternative publications such as labor union convention proceedings, union journals, strike bulletins, underground newspapers, internal bulletins of radical organizations, and scholarly journals in labor and radical history in print, on microfilm, and on microfiche.

Not all of the titles in the collection have been cataloged to date and new records are added to BobCat every day.  To find out how to use the collection or browse lists of uncataloged titles, consult our Serials Research Guide.

Use the search box above to search the catalog for serials at the Tamiment.  Type in the box using keywords, titles, or author names.  

A new window will open, taking your search to the catalog.  On the left side of that page, you’ll see a list of links with “Limit My Results” at the top.  Click on “NYU Bobst Tamiment/Wagner” under “Library” to get results from the Tamiment only

Highlights from Tamiment's Serials Collection

Tamiment Serials Research Guide

To find out how to search for alternative newspapers, journals and other publications or learn how to find uncataloged periodicals and titles available within large microfilm sets, consult our Serials Research Guide.

The Serials Research Guide can also help you identify radical publications and find indexes to publications that are not available electronically.  

Periodical Guides & Indexes

Consult the Periodical Guides and Indexes page in this LibGuide for help with labor history serials.

Selected Periodical Indexes

Jump directly to the list of selected Periodical Indexes in the Tamiment Library on our website.