Skip to main content

Labor History: Women's Labor History

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

U.S. Women & Labor Bibliography

In 2000, NYU graduate student Kathleen M. Barry produced a bibliography of sources in the Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives related to U.S. women's labor history. 

In the dozen years that have elapsed since the document was published on our website, much has changed in the library.  Scores of new collections have been added to the library's holdings and previously unprocessed and uncataloged archival collections, monographs, and serials have been arranged and described in electronic finding aids and BobCat catalog records. 

Reference sources from the 2000 bibliography have been absorbed into various new, updated, and expanded research guides, including this Labor Research Guide, our Serials Research Guide, and our Women's History Research Guide.

Sections of Barry's guide listing published books in Tamiment's collection on film and video, literature, scholarship, and historical studies remain useful starting points for researchers.  See the links to sections of the guide in the box to the right, and see also the updated Published Primary Sources -- Women's Labor History in the Primary Sources section of this guide.  For more recently published sources, researchers should search BobCat.

The information in Barry's 2000 guide pertaining to Tamiment's archival collections and vertical files is now completely out of date.  Many archival collections have been arranged and described in electronic finding aids and we now have a finding aids search utility that was not available in 2000.  Researchers should consult the Primary Sources section of this Labor History Research Guide for current information and help using the library's archival collections.

The most up to date information on the Tamiment Library's collections can be found on our website and in our research guides

Women's History Resources in the Tamiment Library

Learn about books, serials, pamphlets, oral history, archival, visual, and reference sources available in the Tamiment Library in our Women's History Research Guide.

Printed Sources from Barry's 2000 Bibliography

The sections of Barry's 2000 bibliography listing published titles in Tamiment's collections are good starting points for research on U.S. women's labor history.  They have been converted to pdf and are listed separately below.

Search BobCat, NYU's library catalog, for newer titles and scholarship.

Film & Video Histories

Historical Scholarship on U.S. Women and Labor

Studies & Guides on Contemporary Issues (1980s-1990s)

Studies, Treatises, Union Publications, and Vocational Texts, 1845-1970s

Working Women in Literature and Art

Also see an updated version of Barry's list of Published Primary Sources -- Women's Labor History in this guide.