Skip to main content

Labor History: Collections on Microfilm

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

Collections on Microfilm

The Tamiment Library holds approximately 10,000 reels of microfilm containing newspapers and journals, pamphlet collections, monographs, personal papers and organizational records.  The archival collections on microfilm consist of filmed editions of Tamiment's own collections and microfilmed editions of archives held by other libraries.   

Consult the BobCat record, collection finding aid, and/or collections list to determine if a collection is available on microfilm.  Search BobCat using the box below.  Type in the box using keywords, titles, or author names.  A new window will open, taking your search to the catalog.  On the left side of that page, you’ll see a list of links with “Limit My Results” at the top.  Click on “NYU Bobst Tamiment/Wagner” under “Library” to get results from the Tamiment only

Highlights include:

  • American Labor Unions' Constitutions and Proceedings (Film R-7020)
  • American Federation of Labor Records:  TheSamuel Gompers Era (Film R-7075)
  • Jewish Labor Committee Records (Film R-7015)
  • Labor Union Minutes on Microfilm (list in pdf)
  • Max Schactman Papers (Film R-7203)
  • Women's Bureau of the U.S. Dept. of Labor Records, 1918-1965 (Film R-7103)
  • Women's Trade Union League and its Principal Leaders (Film R-7099)

Browse a list of all the microfilmed archival collections in Tamiment.

In many cases, microfilm may be borrowed via interlibrary loan.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.