Skip to main content

Labor History: Bibliographies

A guide to U.S. labor history resources in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.

Bibliographies

  American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations Pamphlets, 1889-1955: A Bibliography and Subject Index to the Pamphlets Held in the AFL-CIO Library / Mark E. Woodbridge, AFL-CIO, and Library. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1977. Pamphlet entries are arranged chronologically and then by author. No annotations.  

American Labor History and Comparative Labor Movements; a Selected Bibliography / James C. McBrearty. Tucson, Ariz: University of Arizona Press, 1973. Labor history entries are divided chronologically with topical subject divisions; comparative labor movements section is arranged geographically. Author index. 

American Women and the Labor Movement, 1825-1974: An Annotated Bibliography 2d ed. / Martha Jane Soltow and Mary K. Wery. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1976. Entries are topically arranged and cover employment, trade unions, working conditions, strikes, legislation, worker education, labor leaders and supportive efforts. Contains author, subject, and cross-reference indexes.

American Working Class History: A Representative Bibliography / Maurice F. Neufeld, Daniel J. Leab, and Dorothy Swanson. New York: Bowker, 1983. A revised and expanded edition of Neufeld's A Representative Bibliography of American Labor History, it provides selective coverage up to 1983 arranged by subject classification. 7261 unannotated entries for films, dissertations and theses, fiction, government and union publications, and articles from both scholarly and popular journals. Title, author and organization index. The bibliography is updated annually by Tamiment Library archivist Peter Filardo in the journal Labor History.

American Working-Class History in Historical Journals, 1961-1972: A Bibliography / Andor Skotnes. New Brunswick: Labor Education Center, Institute of Management and Labor Relations, University Extension Division, Rutgers University, 1974. An unannotated bibliography with 533 entries from sixty-two journals. The bibliography is arranged by journal with articles in chronological order. There are author, subject, and photograph indexes. 

America's White Working-Class Women: A Historical Bibliography / Susan Estabrook Kennedy. New York: Garland Publ., 1981. Divided chronologically, from the 17th century to the 20th century, plus coverage of general works. Brief annotations, subject and author index.

Annual Bibliography - Labor History (United States), 2007 / Compiled by Peter Meyer Filardo, Tamiment Archivist.  This bibliography, co-sponsored by the Labor and Working Class History Association (LAWCHA) and the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, NYU, is the successor to the annual bibliography that appeared in the journal Labor History, from 1968-2006.

The Autobiography of the Working Class: An Annotated, Critical Bibliography / John Burnett, David Vincent, and David Mayall. New York: New York University Press, 1984. Covers the working class of Great Britain, 1790-1945, in 3 volumes with annotations that include bibliographical information and details on family life, occupations, activities along with critical commentary. General, places, occupations, education, and dates indexes are included.  

A Bibliography of Labor History in Newsfilm / Richard Fauss. Morgantown: Institute for Labor Studies, Division of Social and Economic Development, Center for Extension and Continuing Education, West Virginia University, 1980. 4 volumes. A guide to labor history in the major newsfilm collections in the United States, excluding finished documentaries. Arranged by institution, subdivided by collection. Individual entries are arranged chronologically by industry, with film type, title, place, "call number," and date, and brief annotation. No overall index.

Black Labor in America, 1865-1983: A Selected Annotated Bibliography / Joseph Wilson and Thomas Weissinger. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Entries arranged by author. Contains title and subject indexes.

The Garment Industry in the United States, 1860-1975: A Historian's Bibliography / By Shirley Idelson, Leon Levy Fellow / Bibliographer, Ph.D. candidate, Department of History, The Graduate Center, City University of New York, August 2007. 

Labor in America: A Historical Bibliography Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio Information Services, 1985. 2,865 entries are arranged chronologically with subdivisions by topic, includes index. Covers 1973-1983.

Labor History in the United States: A General Bibliography / Gene S. Stroud. Urbana: Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations, University of Illinois, 1961. This bibliography lists 2022 unannotated entries with a subject index. The entries exclude material not in English and most government reports or surveys. Entries are listed by author, with cross references. 

New York Labor Heritage: A Selected Bibliography of New York City Labor History, 1st ed. / Robert Wechsler. New York: Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, Tamiment Institute Library, New York University, 1981. NYC related entries arranged in three parts: time period; labor topics; and industries, occupations, unions. 

A Representative Bibliography of American Labor History / Maurice F. Neufeld. Ithaca, New York: Cornell University, 1964. Entries are grouped under the headings Bibliographies, Guides, and Archival Sources; General Histories; Periods of Development; City, Regional, and State Labor Movements and Conditions; American Labor and International Affairs; Theories of teh American Labor Movement; and Individual Occupations, Trades, and Industries. Includes a comprehensive index. 

Something in Common: An IWW Bibliography / Dione Miles. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1986. Comprehensive annotated bibliography on the Industrial Workers of the World. Includes an IWW chronology, books, articles, pamphlets, newspapers and magazines, government documents and publications, and miscellaneous writings. With author and subject index.

State Labor Proceedings: A Bibliography of the AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO Proceedings, 1884-1974, Held in the AFL-CIO Library / Gary M. Fink. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1975. ISBN: 0837182786 A useful guide to the holdings of state federations now held by the George Meany Archives Library. An introduction explains the history and functions of state federations. Part I provides a capsule history and chronology of each state labor federation (except Hawaii), with references. The District of Columbia is included with Maryland. Annotations are not exhaustive, but are intended to serve as samples of the type of materials included that go beyond proceedings. Part II is a bibliography of all the publications included in Part I. 

Subject Index of Bulletins Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics: Subject Index of the Publications of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics up to May 1, 1915, published in 1915, and, Subject Index of Bulletins Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, 1915-59, published in 1960. / Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, Publishers, 1979. 

Work-Family Research: An Annotated Bibliography / Teri Ann Lilly, et al. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1997. Comprehensive coverage of the subject containing 934 annotated entries arranged by topic. Author index.

The Worker in American Fiction; an Annotated Bibliography / Virginia Williamson Prestridge. Champaign, Institute of Labor and Industrial Relations: University of Illinois, 1954. Chronological listings with brief annotations. Contains author, title and subject indexes.