Skip to main content

History of Medicine, Healthcare, and Disease: E-Books/Encyclopedias

This guide is intended to provide a starting point for historical research on health topics and diseases.

Online Books and Encyclopedias

  • Credo Reference: Credo is a vast, online reference library, containing dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology. Access full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Credo uses the web to add another dimension to reference books. Not only does our powerful search look through your collection of books in seconds, but our unique network of cross-references connect relevant information across the whole library.
     
  • Ebook Central: a searchable collection of thousands of online full-text books and other materials that spans all academic subject areas, including health, biomedical and clinical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
     
  • Oxford Reference Online Medicine subset searches Oxford Companion to the Body; Dictionary of Food and Nutrition; Concise Medical Dictionary; A-Z of Medicinal Drugs; Oxford Companion to Medicine; Dictionary of Nursing; Dictionary of Psychology; Dictionary of Public Health; Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine.
     
  • Reference Universe: a vast, cumulative index with over 15 million citations to over 10,000 specialized encyclopedias, compendia and handbooks.
     
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library: a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. SCROLL to view publications in medicine, including the Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Pain, Encyclopedia of Cancer, Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, and MORE.
     
  • Google Books: search the full text of some seven million books through Google Books. Browse by subject, search by keyword, use advanced search features, OR:

    Search for words within an individual book, browse the contents or index, like this one below:

 

 

 

 

CLICK HERE FOR MORE E-BOOKS IN CROSS-DISCIPLINARY AREAS

What is google scholar? How should I use it?

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections.  For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item.

You can configure Google Scholar to:

  • Display a link to NYU options for the full-text of an article
  • Export your citations to RefWorks or EndNote

Here's how to display NYU links:

  1. Open scholar.google.com
  2. Go to the Settings icon (upper right screen)
  3. Click on left menu item, "Library Links"
  4. Type in: NYU
  5. From the results, put a check mark next to "New York University Libraries-GetIt at NYU"
  6. Click on Save to save preferences.

The next time you search scholar.google.com, the GetIt at NYU option will be available next to accessible article citations.

Here's how to change settings for Bibliography manager:

  1. Open scholar.google.com
  2. Go to the Settings icon (upper right screen)
  3. In the Search Results, go to Bibliography Manager
  4. Select Show Links  to import citation into: (your choice of bibliography manager, Refworks, Endnote, etc.)
  5. Click on Save to save preferences.