Scroll to How to Search books and Journals using LocatorPlus. Material in the collection covers every area of the history of medicine and the health sciences in the United States and Europe, and substantial collections of Latin American and Asian publications.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Personal Papers & Manuscripts
Columbia University Medical Center Archives Digital Collections: History of Columbia University Medical Center
Auchincloss Florence Nightingale Collection
Hyman Collection in the History of Anesthesiology
Photographs & Prints
Rare Books and Journals
Jerome Webster Library of Plastic Surgery
Historical records and images from the archives of the NYU Medical Center and NYU School of Medicine, as well as records of institutions that have merged with the School or Medical Center, including the Bellevue Hospital Medical College and the New York Post-Graduate Medical School and Hospital (links to finding aids for Bellevue Medical College and Bellevue School of Nursing)
Describes the modern manuscript collections concerning Nursing, Midwifery and Obstetrics found in the History of Medicine Division. Collections include lecture notes on midwifery, records of nursing schools and associations, and the correspondence and personal papers of persons involved in the fields of Nursing and Midwifery. Persons mentioned include Francis Henry Ramsbotham and James Young Simpson. Majority are dated from the 19th and 20th centuries, with several from the 18th century.
Bibliography of the History of Medicine Journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers and proceedings that were published from 1965-1993 are indexed in the Bibliography of the History of Medicine. The Bibliography, a printed version of the discontinued HISTLINE database, was published in six cumulative volumes (1965-1993), and is useful for pre-1993 material. Selected volumes are online via Hathi Trust digital library.
Health Science Books, 1876-1982. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1982. 4 vols. First three volumes consist of a subject listing of 132,000 titles that were published in the United States during this period. Volume 4 includes abbreviated entries in the author and title indexes, and two tables that correlate subject headings used by the Library of Congress and the National Library of Medicine Ref 1 Z6658 .H4 1982