History of Medicine, Healthcare, and Disease

The library collections at NYU contain:

• manuscripts and other archival materials,
• correspondence and diaries,
• photographs, films, artwork, music,
• posters and prints,
• government documents and data sets,
• ephemera and artifacts,
• serials and books,
• maps and other resources

Visit the NYU Libraries website and the websites of the Special Collections for details on library holdings.

Search BobCat

To find cataloged materials at NYU and consortium libraries.

Search finding aids

To find processed archival collections.  You may search across collections or search each of the following library's archival finding aids individually.

• The Fales Library & Special Collections
• The Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives
• New York University Archives
• New-York Historical Society Library

Databases

Use the Databases by Subject page to find sources on your topic in online databases.

Image:  "Pigeon on New York Public Library" / By Ben Asen, 2001. New York Public Library.  Catalog No. MssArc RG10 592.  Digital ID: ps_ar_65.

See the Archives Beyond Bobst research guide for tips on finding materials in archival repositories around the world.

Consult the Using Archives & Manuscripts research guide for additional information and assistance.

Primary Sources are:

• Materials that contain direct evidence, first-hand testimony, or an eyewitness account concerning a topic or event under investigation
• Sources that provide the raw data for your research
• Examples:  In addition to diaries, correspondence, statistics, photographs, and the many other types of sources typically considered to be primary sources, you may add just anything to the list.  The way you interpret or use a source determines whether it is a primary source or not.

LINK to the NYU Libraries Research Guide to Finding and Using Primary Sources

[Letter home from a Union nurse concerning her lodging and daily life.], n.d.

Civil War Treasures from the New-York Historical Society, [nhnycw/ak ak00028]
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpcoop/nhihtml/cwnyhshome.html