Skip to main content

New York City: Census Records, Immigrants, & Statistics

This guide provides resources related to New York City.

NYC Data & Statistics

NYC Data

Compiled by Baruch College.

NYC and NY State Statistical Sources
From Columbia University Libraries.

Alliance for the Arts
Includes statistics for the arts in NYC.

The Broadway League
"As the national trade association for the commercial theatre industry, the League serves as the central hub for statistical information about Broadway theatre production in North America."

Mayor's Office of Film, Theatre, and Broadcasting

 

 

Economic Snapshots
From the New York City Economic Development Corporation; issued monthly.

New York State Department of Labor
Includes statistics related to employment and unemployment.

NEW Resource: German Traces NYC

German Traces NYC,” an ongoing project that brings places of German cultural heritage in NYC from 1840-1945 to life through a mobile website that blends cultural heritage information with GPS mapping technology to create augmented reality walking tours.  “German Traces NYC” is the first application of the GeoStoryteller platform, which is an open-source software that combines elements of internet pages, mobile websites, podcasts, and augmented reality.

Social Explorer

Social Explorer
A subscription database that, "...allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded. NYU subscribes to Social Explorer premium service, which includes full tract and country-level historical datasets."

Choose by State and County.  For Manhattan, choose New York County; for Brooklyn, choose King's County, for Staten Island, choose Richmond County.

New Yorkers & Their Neighborhoods

           

Books from left to right:

Spanish Harlem: Anatomy of Poverty / by Patrícía Cayo Sexton (New York: Harper & Row, 1965).

Beyond the Melting Pot: The Negros, Puerto Ricans, Jews, Italians, and Irish of New York City / by Nathan Glazer and Daniel Patrick Moynihan (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1963).  

Memories of Migration: Gender, Ethnicity,and Work in the Lives of Jewish and Italian Women in New York, 1870-1924 / by Kathie Friedman-Kasaba (Albany: SUNY, 1996).

Harlem on My Mind: Cultural Capital of Black American, 1900-1968  by Allon Schoener (New York: W.W. Norton & Co., 1995).

Census Records

Bobst Library - U.S. Government Documents
The collections of Bobst Library include sources of census data related to New York City, including:  

Census Data With Maps for Small Areas of New York City, 1910-1960

10 microfilm reels with printed guide

Census Tract Data on Population and Housing, New York City: 1940

Census Tract Data on Population and Housing, New York City: 1950

Greenwich Village: Statistical Trends and Observations

Population History of New York City

Population of the City of New York, 1890-1930... compiled and edited by Walter Laidlaw... New York City, Cities Census Committee, Inc., [1932]

Statistical Sources for Demographic Studies of Greater New York, 1920

U.S. Census of Population
Available on Microfilm in Government Documents Center.  Note that Reel 19 of the 1940 Census contains NYC Block Statistics and maps

American Fact Finder
Find Census statistics by zip code.

Ancestry Library Edition (on campus only) 
A subscription database available through NYU Libraries that includes immigration and emigration records.

National Archives - Census Records
Introduction and guide to using census records. Includes tips for deciphering the census records of 1790-1840 and 1850-1930. Does not link to the census records themselves. Use Ancestry Library or US Census Bureau to find records.

Bytes of the Big Apple
BYTES of the BIG APPLE is a family of software, data and geographic base map files for the City of New York. The Department of City Planning offers these products for free download or by a license agreement.

Fact Finder for the Nation, May 2000
Information sheet on the first U.S. Census in 1790.

Historical Census Browser - University of Virginia
Customizable data results.

New York Census Research Data Center
The New York Census Research Data Center provides access to Census data.

New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
Data is available under the "My Community's Health" tab.

New York City Department of Planning
Use the Interactive Census FactFinder to create population profiles from the 2000 census by census tract(s) or by community district. or find information on the Newest New Yorkers, Population and Housing Characteristics, Historical Population Information and more using the tools on the Department of Planning's website.


New York City Factfinder

Find census information for NYC by address, community district, or subway station.

Social Explorer
A subscription database that "allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded. NYU subscribes to Social Explorer premium service, which includes full tract and country-level historical datasets."

U.S. Census Bureau: Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
PDFs of printed census data and other information. Includes links to Historical Abstract of the United States, from Colonial Times to Present.

Vital Statistics of New York State
Here you can access tables of vital statistics for NY State. These tables include: Population, Live Births, Pregnancies, and mortality.

NEW RESOURCE: NYPL's Direct Me NYC: 1940 Census

Use the New York Public Library's new tool, Direct Me NYC, to unlock the data in the recently released 1940 Federal Census.  NYPL has digitized the New York City telephone directories from 1940 so you can now use them to find Census data on New Yorkers in three easy steps. 

Check out the NYPL's Direct Me NYC FAQ for more information.

Immigrant New York

Newest New Yorkers 2000 (via Index to Current Urban Documents)
Newest New Yorkers 2000: Immigrant New York in the New Millennium from the NYC Department of City Planning, Population Division. Access via the Index to Current Urban Documents (NYU-ONLY). Once in the database, search for “Newest New Yorkers”.

Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs
Includes a directory of services for immigrants in NYC (including associations, etc.)

IPA-NY Indy Press
Includes Voices that Must Be Heard series (which includes translated articles) and a link to a map of Ethnic Press in NYC.

NYU Library Resources

Search Bobcat for Books Related to Immigrants in NYC
Try searching for "Immigrants New York (State) New York" OR the specific ethnic group, ex. " East Indians New York (State) New York" in the Subject field.