Skip to main content

New York City: NYC Newspapers

This guide provides resources related to New York City.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.

NYC Newspapers List

The article on newspapers in The Encyclopedia of New York City provides a history and bibliography of the press in NYC.  Includes lists of 18th Century newspapers, daily newspapers arranged by date of first publication, foreign language papers, and more.

Chronicling America Newspapers Project

Chronicling America
Library of Congress project; view New York City newspapers from 1880-1922.

Freie Arbeiter Stimme

Image:  Freie Arbeiter Stimme (Free Voice of Labor), 1941.  New York: Free Voice of Labor Association, 1890-1977, Tamiment Library, NYU.

Digitized Newspapers & Journals and Online News

Databases by Subject for New York City
Start at this web page that groups together many useful databases of current and historical newspapers and journals published in New York City. Most of these are subscription databases available only to the NYU community.

APS Online
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 18th and 19th century newspapers and periodicals in the original microfilm reproduction series, American periodical series, I, II, and III. See the alphabetically arranged Title list for additional information.

Cornell University's Making of America Collection
This digital library of 19th century primary sources provides access to more than 250 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles.  Included are a number of New York City publications, including Harper's Magazine (1850-1899), The Atlantic Monthly (1857-1901), and Scribner's (1887-1896), among others.  Browse a full list on Cornell's MOA websiteThe monographs in the collection, published between 1821 and 1926, are searchable and browsable by author or title.  The books span a wide range of subjects, including the NYC Draft Riots, Dutch Manhattan, genealogies, biographies, and various towns in New York, along with many others topics.  See the Monographs Page on Cornnell's MOA website for details.

EthnicNewsWatch
Includes ethnic newspapers from NYC communities. Note some newspapers may be non-English. Sources include: El Diario, El Prensa, New York Jewish Weekly, India in New York, New Voice of New York, etc.

Factiva
Like LexisNexis, Factiva covers tons of news sources. There is a lot of overlap, but Factiva tends to be better on the trades. Factiva also includes Time Out, which is not included in LexisNexis.

Gotham Gazette
Includes “New York City News and Policy” articles as well as links to tons of NYC resources. Check out the Links Section (lower left side bar) for links to Org(anizations) and News Sites (local weeklies, etc.) Click on Manhattan in the Boros section to find out more about neighborhood resources. NYC Blogs are also listed.

LexisNexis New York News Sources
This pre-defined category searches the New York Post, Village Voice, New York Magazine, New York Times, Crain’s New York Business, and more.

Radical Press in New York City, 1880-1960

Browse a list of radical serials published in New York City

The list was adapted from Joseph Conlin's The American Radical Press, 1880-1960 (Westport: Greenwood Press, 1974), a collection of scholarly essays that introduced the 108 socialist, anarchist and communist publications reprinted by the Greenwood Reprint Corporation in the 1960s and 1970s.

Many of the serials are available in the Tamiment Library. Follow the links to see records in BobCat, NYU's library catalog. Click on "More bibliographical information" to see full details on the publication and Tamiment's holdings.

Newspapers @ Tamiment

The Tamiment Library on the 10th Floor of Bobst holds a large collection of alternative publications such as union journals and convention proceedings, strike bulletins, underground newspapers, internal bulletins of radical organizations, and scholarly journals in labor and radical history in print, on microfilm, and on microfiche, many of which were published in New York.

Consult Tamiment's Serials Research Guide for details.

Newspapers @ N-YHS

The New-York Historical Society holds the fourth largest collection of American newspapers published before 1820: 634 titles by a 1947 estimate. 

Consult the N-YHS's Newspaper Research Guide for details. 

Newspapers @ NYPL

New York Public Library has a large collection of New York City Newspapers, both current and historical.

See the NYPL's New York City Newspapers Guide for more information.