Skip to main content

New York City: Government Documents

This guide provides resources related to New York City.

Learning to Do Historical Research: Sources Government Documents

An excellent online primer on using Government Documents in your research from William Cronon's Learning Historical Research website. 

Census Records

Government Documents at Bobst

Bobst Library has been a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program since 1967.

The library is a selective depository which currently collects approximately 55% of the Federal documents distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program.

Most of the US Government Documents in Bobst Library are shelved on the 6th floor.

Finding Government Documents

Government documents offer a rich source of fascinating information on virtually every topic imaginable.  The following are sources relevant to New York City. 

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes statistical and economic information on the United States, searchable by keyword. Also includes links to many other sources of statistical information, both foreign and domestic, in the BLS information section.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

City Hall / Municipal Activities
Official depository for agency published reports and studies. Search for government documents and records on this site. Includes vital records (birth certificates, etc.).

Congressional Hearings Digital Collection (CHDC)
A subscription database available to NYU researchers from this link that includes abstracting, indexing, bibliographic information, and searchable PDFs for Congressional hearings from 1824-present.

GPO Access
This is the U.S. Federal Government's gateway site to documents. 

The Green Book: Official Directory of the City of New York
An annual directory for NYC departments and government that also provides basic NYC statistics.

Index to Current Urban Documents
The only regularly published guide to the reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. Includes “Newest New Yorkers” Report.

NYC Government Info and Documents at Columbia University
Points to a large number of NYC government documents that are freely available via the web.

The Red Book
The official annual directory for New York State government.