Research Guides: Grey Literature: Government Grey Lit

Government produced Information Databases

Child Welfare Information Gateway
"The Publications Search searches on documents that Child Welfare Information Gateway distributes, which include factsheets, bulletins, and research summaries either produced by Information Gateway or other organizations. Topics include child abuse and neglect, child welfare and adoption related issues."
science.gov
An index of collections of government created information.
CRS Reports via Cal State Fullerton
A index of places around the internet to access Congressional Research Service Reports Available Online.
U.S. Department of State Foreign Press Centers
Includes links to Social Media, Briefings and Reports.
HUD.gov- US Department of Housing and Urban Development
"The HUD USER Database is the only bibliographic database exclusively dedicated to housing and community development issues. It contains more than 10,000 full-abstract citations to research reports, articles, books, monographs, and data sources in housing policy, building technology, economic development, urban planning, and a host of other relevant fields."
U.S. National Strategy Documents (NDUL Digital Collections)
A comprehensive collection of official U.S. Government strategy documents

Technical Reports

What are Technical Reports?

The detailed publications that record results of scientific studies. Department of Energy (DOE) and National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) are the federal agencies that produce a large number of technical reports.(http://www.lib.cwu.edu/GovernmentDocumentsGlossary) Often times these reports are published electronically and therefore are relatively easy to access with the write gateway.

Department of Defense technical reports at Defense Technical Information Center
"...the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today"
NASA technical reports
"The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994...The type of information found in NTRS includes: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos."
Argonne National Laboratory [ANL] Mathematics and Computer Science [MCS] Division Publications
"The basic mission of the MCS Division is increase scientific productivity in the 21st century by providing intellectual and technical leadership in the computing sciences -- computer science, applied computational mathematics, and computational science."
Welcome to the Department of Energy OpenNet System
OpenNet provides "easy, timely access to recently declassified documents, including information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act requests."
The National Technical Information Service

Want to Learn More?

For more information on Technical Reports and the relationship with Grey Literature check out GLISC's Guidelines for the production of scientific and technical reports: how to write and distribute grey literature.(http://www.glisc.info/)

Searching the NTIS Database?

Are you using the The National Technical Information Service (NTIS) to search for technical reports? This guide mmay be useful in helping yopu to maximize your searches. www.ntis.gov/pdf/dbguid.pdf