Skip to main content

New to NYU Libraries: NYU Libraries Resources

A basic guide to NYU Libraries' services for new NYU students.

Get help in your subject

Library Resources

This page provides a list of the most popular NYU Libraries services and tools for students. For more, see the NYU Libraries website.

Start your research

1) Browse for a Research Guide in your subject area, or search our guides:

2) Search BobCat, the NYU Libraries catalog, for books, articles, and many other resources. BobCat includes several tabs that you can select to search for specific information:

  • Books & More - Search for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, and more in local libraries and special collections [more]
  • Articles & Databases - Get a list of databases within your subject area to search, or search pre-selected groups of databases simultaneously [more]
  • Databases A-Z - Find databases by title (e.g., ProQuest, PsycInfo, ARTstor)  [more]
  • Journals - Search by journal title, or enter citation information to get a link to an article [more]
  • Course Reserves - Locate books and articles your instructor has placed on reserve at the Library [more]

Manage your research

Within BobCat, you can manage your items using My Workspace. You can also use Citation Management tools to improve your workflows. 

Get Help with your research

Ask a Librarian - Chat, email, or text: 646-265-1342

Subject Specialists - Contact the librarian in your subject area

Library Classes - Take a library class

Library Tutorials - Get help using library tools and services