Skip to main content

Complementary & Alternative Medicine: FAQ's

Guide to locating resources for complementary and alternative therapies.

UNDER CONSTRUCTION!

Frequently Asked Questions

Finding Full Text

Locating the full text of an article:

 

  • From a database citation, look for a link to "full text" or the NYU icon:

  • The "get-it" link will display options for the full text if available via NYU's electronic subscriptions. 

  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available electronically, use the link to search the Bobcat catalog to locate a hard copy
  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available in Bobcat  click on the link to Interlibrary loan to order

What is google scholar? How should I use it?

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections.  For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item.

You can configure Google Scholar to:

  • Display a link to NYU options for the full-text of an article
  • Export your citations to RefWorks or EndNote

Here's how to display NYU links:

  1. Open scholar.google.com
  2. Go to the Settings icon (upper right screen)
  3. Click on left menu item, "Library Links"
  4. Type in: NYU
  5. From the results, put a check mark next to "New York University Libraries-GetIt at NYU"
  6. Click on Save to save preferences.

The next time you search scholar.google.com, the GetIt at NYU option will be available next to accessible article citations.

Here's how to change settings for Bibliography manager:

  1. Open scholar.google.com
  2. Go to the Settings icon (upper right screen)
  3. In the Search Results, go to Bibliography Manager
  4. Select Show Links  to import citation into: (your choice of bibliography manager, Refworks, Endnote, etc.)
  5. Click on Save to save preferences.

How do I export records from PubMed to Refworks?

1. In PubMed, perform a search and mark the references you want to export; use the dropdown menu to Send to “Clipboard,” Choose destination, Clipboard, click ADD to Clipboard.
 
2. When you are finished with your search session, click on items you have saved in "Clipboard" (upper right of screen) ;

3. Once you are in Clipboard, once again to to "Send to" in upper right of screen and in drop-down menu, select “File,”  Change format in dropdown menu to "MEDLINE" format. (this is a critical step...you must save in MEDLINE format so that Refworks can "read" the file.)

4. Then click on Create File. File will be saved in your Downloads.

5. NOW, open a new window and Log in to RefWorks with your id and password.

6. Select References/Import from the toolbar

7. Select NLM PubMed as the filter; select PubMed as the database

8. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer (look in Downloads)
Click Import

Your PubMed records should appear in the Refworks "Last Imported" Folder. (Remember to move them into an assigned folder before you do your next import)