Skip to main content

Slavic Primary Sources: Slavic Written Primary Sources

Archival Documents: records of organizations and government agencies

Archives of the Soviet Communist Party and the Soviet State. Fond 17. Central Committee of the Communist Party of the USSR, Opis' 2. Plenums of the Central Committee of the RKP(b) 1918-1941. 88 reels of microfilm.
Film 9701. Paper guide available in Microform Room.

Files of the Communist Party of the USA in the Comintern Archives. Fond 515, opis 1 of the records of the Communist Party of the United States of America from the holdings of Rossiĭskiĭ t͡sentr khranenii͡a i izuchenii͡a dokumentov noveĭsheĭ istorii. 326 microfilm reels.
Bobst Tamiment ; Main Collection ; Film R-7548
Paper guide in Tamiment.
Online finding aid: http://www.idcpublishers.info/cpusa/

See also the primary historical documents for Slavic and East European countries in Eurodocs.
//eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page

Official Government Publications

Bessarabskaia gubernskiia viedomosti (Bessarabskie gubernskie vedomosti), 1854-1917.
NYU Bobst/Microform Film/Non-circulating. 
For Russian provincial history see other gubernskie vedomosti. The best collection can be found in the library catalog at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.http://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-uiu/Search/Home?lookfor=gubernskie+vedomosti&type=all&start_over=1&submit=Find&sort=title

Manuscripts

Papers of Dmitrii Antonovich Volkogonov
Copies of correspondence, memoranda, articles, texts of speeches, interviews, personal testimonies, investigative and other reports, official protocols, directives, resolutions, schedules, logs, inventories of archival material, printed material, film scenarios, and photographs reproduced from records in twelve Russian archives as well as the originals of some of Volkogonov’s personal papers.10,170  items.
NYU Bobst / Microform Film 8048

First Person Accounts (albums, autobiographies, diaries, interviews, letters, memoirs, travel writing)

Albums:

 Al'bom Elizavety Nikolaevny Ushakovoi : faksimil'noe voproizvedenie. NYU Bobst/Main PG3351.A43 1999

Autobiographies:

The life of the archpriest Avvakum, by himself. Translated from the seventeenth century Russian. NYU Bobst/Main Collection BX605.A8 A3

Droga do prawdy: autobiografia /  Lech Walesa. NYU Bobst/Main Collection DK4452.W34 A3 2008

Diaries:

John Quncy Adams in Russia, comprising portions of the diary of John Quincy Adams from 1809 to 1814. NYU Bobst/Main Collection E377.A2 1970

Dnevnik: v trekh tomakh / A.V. Nikitenko. NYU Bobst/Main Collection PG2947.N5 A3 1956

Interviews:

Pokolenie '89 czyli dzieci PRL-u w wolnej Polsce / Beata Tadla. NYU/Bobst Main Collection CT1230.T33 2009

Conversations with Gorbachev. NYU Bobst/Main Collection DK290.3.G67 A5 2002

Letters:

Pis'ma aktrisy, vospominaniia o nei, materialy / Vera Fedorovna Komissarzhevskaia. NYU Bobst/ Main Collection PN 2728.K58 A4 1964

Listy z getta / Hanka Golszajd. NYU Bobst/Main Collection DS134.72.G66 A4 2007

Memoirs:

Zapiski Imperatritsy Ekateriny II. NYU/Bobst Main Collection DK170 .A417 1990

The oak and the calf: sketches of literary life in the Soviet Union / Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn. NYU/Bobst Main Collection PG3488.O4 Z4913

Travel writing:

Winter notes on summer impressions / Fyodor Dostoyevsky. NYU/Bobst Main Collection PG3328.A183 2008

Obrazky z domova / Karel Capek. DB199 .C33 1954

 

 


 

 

Published Materials Written at the Time of the Event

Newspapers, Journals, Magazines, Websites

From Perestroika to the Fall of the Soviet Union.  Bobst collection of core Russian newspapers on microfilm covering at least 1985 through 1993.

Russian Women's Serials, 1875-1937, on microfilm.

The Russian Cinematographic Press, 1907-1918

Archive-It Website Collections, Russian
     Georgia and Russian Conflict, 2008 (Internet Archive)
     Russian Presidential Elections 2008 (George Washington University)
     Parliamentary Elections, 2007 (Indiana University)
     Russian Plane Crash, 2011 (Virginia Tech)
     National Governments Statistical Websites

    

Slavic Data

See the  Slavic Data page of the Slavic Studies Research Guide

Beyond Bobst

Stalin-era documents online
More than 100,000 digitized copies of documents from the Russian State Archive of Socio-Political History have made available to the public. Website and serach engine in Russian.

Prezidentskaia biblioteka im. Borisa El'tsina
   96 collections include digitized documents on the history of Russian oblasti, Russian-foreign relations, Russian children's literature, Russian textbooks, the Soviet space program, Russian and Soviet constitutions, and more..

Europeana A portal to Europe's digitized cultural heritage.

EuroDocs

  Czech Republic

  Poland

  Russia

Moscow State University