Skip to main content

Slavic Primary Sources: Slavic Audio Primary Sources

Music


Pollish village music: historic Polish-American recordings, 1927-1933.
NYU Bobst Avery Fisher Center Main Collection XCD 8584

Live Paul Robeson concert from Tchaikovsky Hall in Moscow: recorded 6/14/1949.
NYU Bobst Avery Fisher Center Main Collection XCD 13398

Beyond Bobst
Russian Bards.  


Speeches

Rechi V.I. Lenina [sound recording].
Recorded in Moscow in 1919 and 1920.
NYU Bobst Avery Fisher Center / Main Collection XLP 16102

(with thanks to Matthew Wise for help with music and sound recordings)

Oral Histories

Bobst
Conversations with Gorbachev.

     Mikhail Gorbachev and Stephen Cohen discuss Gorbachev’s rise to power in the Soviet system, developments under his leadership, the nature of his  reforms, his role in ending the Cold War, his assessments of Boris Yeltsin’s leadership, the breakup of the Soviet Union, and relations between the United States and Russia since 1991.
NYU Bobst Avery Fisher Center / Main Collection VCA 10540

Oral History Online  
http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/orhi/?  
2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world, searchable full-text and pointers to audio and visual files.

 

Beyond Bobst
Communal living in Russia: a virtual museum of Soviet everyday life = Kommunalʹnai͡a kvartira : virtualʹnyĭ muzeĭ sovetskogo byta

Beyond Bobst: Audio archive of Soviet and Russian history

 "The archive consists of recordings dating back to the earliest years of the Soviet state. Included are the voices and speeches of key political figures, including Lenin, Kerensky, Kirov, Beria, Stalin, Gorbachev, and others. Among the recorded interviews are Anna Larina (Bukharin's widow); Valentin Berezhkov, Stalin's wartime interpreter; Yelena Bonner, Sakharov's widow; and Lev Pevsner, a survivor of the Leningrad Blockade. There is also on-the-scene recorded sound of many events in Soviet history, including: the Russian and American armies meeting at the Elbe; Stalin's funeral; the August 1991 coup against Gorbachev"--Kennan Institute and National Public Radio online audio archive of Soviet and Russian history.

https://www.wilsoncenter.org/collection/kennan-institute-russian-history-audio-archive

Interviews

Black Russians.
Primarily interviews with adult children of mixed marriages who have lived all their lives in the Soviet Union/Russia and in many--though not all--instances consider themselves Russian.
NYU Bobst Avery Fisher Center / Main Collection VCA 13973

Lives in the Transtion.
Interviews with various groups of Russians in 1992 who talk about the Soviet past, the Gorbachev era, the August 1991 coup attempt, contemporary life, and the future of Russia.
NYU Bobst Avery Fisher Center / Main Collection VCA 5653, 4090.

Beyond Bobst

The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System
The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s.