Skip to main content

Slavic Primary Sources: Slavic Visual Primary Sources

Film

Early Russian Cinema: Films Before the Revolution. 
A video anthology of 28 silent films from Russia before the 1917 Revolution (Avery Fisher Center, VCA 2950-2959). (Title list below.)

Streaming Video Databases

Beyond Bobst

Meeting of Frontiers, Library of Congress
A bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library (and collection of digitized primary sources) that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.
    
Documents
     Use Search link at top of screen

New York Public Library 
Digital Gallery

 

Posters

My trebuem mira! plakaty kholodnoĭ voĭny = We demand peace! : Soviet posters of the Cold War
NYU Bobst Main Collection NC1807.S65 M9 2007 Oversize

(For collections of posters, search in the subject field in Bobcat or WorldCat under: Posters, Russian and/or Posters, Soviet.)

 

For images of more than 1300 Russian film posters
http://www.chisholm-poster.com/movie_posters/browse/poster_country/russian

 

 

Photographs

Books

Russia in Original Photographs, 1860-1920.
NYU Bobst Main Collection / DK189.2.L96

Photographs for the Tsar: The Pioneering Color Photography of Sergei Mikhailovich Prudkin-Gorskii Commissioned by Tsar Nicholas II.
NYU Bobst Main Collection/ TR140.P76 A34 1980 (Oversize)

Electronic

United States

  1. Artstor

Go the library homepage:  https://library.nyu.edu

Click on Databases  A-Z  tab.
In search box enter Artstor
Click on go to this database
In Artstor  choose Geography  on left  tool bar
Scroll down to  Russia. Click on plus sign to see subheadings

 

  1. The Meeting of Frontiers, images
    The Library of Congress's multimedia English-Russian digital library. Many images of Siberia and the Russian Far East.
    http://frontiers.loc.gov/intldl/mtfhtml/mfdigcol/mfdigcol.html
     
  2. Discovering Russia
    Bill Brumfield's articles and photo essays on Russia's architectural and cultural heritage.
    http://rbth.com/special/discovering_russia

Russian

  1. Istoriia Rossii v fotografiiakh  A photobank of about 71,000 Russian photographs from 1860-1999 with captions and a search engine. It is sponsored by Yandex and the the Russian Ministry of Culture. The photos come from museums, public archives, and personal collections.
    https://russiainphoto.ru/search/?year_from=1864&year_to=1999&query=

     
  2.  Rossiiskaia Natsional'naia Biblioteka (Russian National Library) , Digitized Pictorial Collections

Rossiiskaia natsional'naia biblioteka pictorial collection (8,000 documents) includes photographs, engravings, lithographs, posters, advertisements documenting Russian history as seen by contemporaries.
http://tinyurl.com/hv3fcaf

Caricatures

Śmiech na trudne czasy : humor i satyra niezależna w stanie wojennym i w latach następnych (13 XII 1981 - 31 XII 1989)
NYU Bobst/Main Collection DK4442.P653 2007

Russkaia karikatura, 1912-1885.
NYU Bobst/Main Collection NC1750.L57 2006

Maps

See Map tab on Slavic Studies Research Guide

 


Beyond Bobst - Electronic Resources

Web Archiving of Russian Elelctions by Mike Neubert, Library of Congress:


2008/2009 elections: http://www.archive-it.org/organizations/166

2011/2012 elections: http://www.archive-it.org/collections/3015

The Ukraine Conflict (Archive-It)  
This collection (5800 results) seeks to document conflict in Ukraine as it progresses. Contributions to this collection were made by the Archive-It team and subject matter experts from Stanford University, Library of Congress, Global Investigative News Network, and Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute. Content includes news outlets, social media, blogs, and government websites. Sites are in English, Ukrainian, Russian, and other languages