Skip to main content

History of Science: Finding Articles

This is a guide to finding books and articles related to the history of science and technology.

Databases

America: History & Life 1964-present
America: History & Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 490,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954.

Historical Abstracts 1954-present
Abstracts and citations indexing over 2,000 journals, books, and dissertations. Covers world history (except the U.S. and Canada) since 1450.

History of Science, Technology & Medicine 1975-present
Includes citations and brief abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.

Medline via PubMed. 1966-present
Medline includes the Bibliography of the History of Medicine, providing citations to literature about the history of health-related professions, sciences, specialties, individuals, institutions, drugs, and diseases in all part of the world and all historic periods. To access these particular citations, do a search by topic [e.g., tuberculosis] and then use the "limit" icon to limit by subject subset to "History of Medicine."

Web of Knowledge
Allows simultaneous searching across scholarly literature citations in the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Wilson Omni
Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals. The database is comprised of selected records from the following H.W. Wilson databases: Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Wilson Business Abstracts.

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder Scholar -- Searches the chemistry literature, including scholarly journals, patents, and conference proceedings. Also displays properties data (physical, chemical, spectral), purchasing and regulatory information. You can search by keyword or topic, as well as by structure.

 

Web of Science

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) -- Search scholarly literature for chemistry, physics, and biology. It also has citation information (how many times an article has been cited), and special features like citation and search alerts, as well as advanced analytics.



Google Scholar

Google Scholar -- Searches a wide variety of scholarly information. To access fulltext from off-campus, click "Preferences" and search for NYU in the "Library Links" section. Choose "Get at NYU" (deselect other options), then save preferences.



PubMed/Medline

PubMed/Medline -- Includes medical literature and DNA/protein sequences.

Subject Librarian

Margaret Smith's picture
Margaret Smith
Contact:
Bobst Library, 5th Floor
margaret.smith@nyu.edu
212-998-2619