American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Labels include Rounder Records, Appleseed Recordings, Stax, Specialty Records, Testament Records, McNeil Music, Native Ground Music, Rebel Records, County Records, Smithsonian Folkways, Document Records, and more.
As of June, 2009, all the music from the former African American Music collection (no longer offered) is now here in American Song. The music of all Americans, including African Americans, is now consolidated here in an expanded American Song.
NYU subscribes to these valuable databases that offer scores and streaming music. Enjoy exploring and listening!
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. The growing collection of 50,000-plus tracks includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent, including reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Record labels in the first release include Topic, Playasound, Budamusique, Air Mail Music, Manuiti, Crossing Records, Lyrichord World Music, Navras Records, INEDIT, and other.
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, one of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten.
Currently DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 complete albums. The core collection is the diverse catalogue of American music issued since 1976 by New World Records. Other contributing labels and sound archives include Albany, Artifact, Cedille, Cold Blue, CRI, Dartmouth Archives, Deep Listening, Frog Peak, Innova, Lovely Music, Mode, Mutable, Open Space, Pogus, XI (Experimental Intermedia).
More than 36,000 albums with over 500,000 individual tracks of classical, contemporary, jazz, traditional, and other genres, from the catalogues of over 150 labels, including Naxos, Alpha, Avie, Bridge, Col Legno, CPO, Gimell, Kairos, Montaigne, New Albion, Nimbus, Opus 111, and Wergo.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the legendary Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.