Skip to main content

Business of Media: Audio-Visual

This guide is designed for NYU students researching general topics in media business.

Web and Library Access to Publications

Web access to publications:

Each title link in the box to the right will go directly to a publication's website. Use these links for:

  • Current news and headlines 
  • Simple searching
  • Access to features unique to the sites, including blogs, photo galleries, video content, comment threads, and more

Library access to publications:

Below each title, find a link labeled "library access." Use these links to identify and access full-text versions of these publications in library databases, as well as print or microform holdings in Bobst. The library databases will be useful in cases where:

  • You need to access older content that is not freely available online 
  • You need to conduct advanced searches across one or more publications
  • You want to save and format article citations or send them into applications such as RefWorks
  • You want to download article PDFs (where available)

If you are looking for older content, follow the "library access" links and check the date range captions for electronic content, then look to see what is available in Bobst in print or on microfilm. All microfilm is available on Lower Level 2 next to the Reserve desk, arranged in alphabetical order by title.

Trade Publications

Trade Publications

Many descriptions are taken from Ulrichs Periodicals Directory

Hollywood Reporter

  • Description: Contains short news articles that will appeal to industry insiders and includes reviews of television movies and current films. Regular features include a business column, reports on entertainment stocks, a calendar of events, and births, weddings, and deaths. It publishes invaluable lists of films in production, films in preparation, and films in development, with detailed credits.
  • Library accessArticle content is available from several databases, including LexisNexis (1991-present), Proquest (2001-present), Factiva and Ebsco.

Variety

  • Description: Variety is the longest-running publication on the business of entertainment in the United States. It contains extensive information on the business of entertainment, along with reviews of films, TV, and theater. While its primary focus is on film and television, it does include some information on the business side of theater production.

  • Library access: Electronic access via multiple databases, plus microfilm in Bobst from 1905 through present.

Broadcasting & Cable

  • Description: Covers the broadcasting and cable industries in-depth, including news and reports on radio, television, cable and satellite. Features legislative updates, radio and television ownership changes, new stations, facilities changes, band allocations, classified, calendar of events and major meetings, and more.

Television Week

  • Description: Covers issues related to the management of television and radio stations, broadcast networks, cable systems and the emerging electronic media, as well as advertising agency media executives and producers and syndicators of programming.

  • Library access: Full-text access via LexisNexis, Proquest, Factiva, and a few additional databases.

Billboard

  • Description: Strongly geared toward reporting news and current trends in the music industry; holds a historical and trustworthy niche in up-to-date chart listings of best-selling artists and albums. Large- and small-format articles represent a wealth of information on business in music[...] documenting how artists utilize new technology not only to create their work, but also to market and distribute it. Occasional forays into review and biographies never stray too far from comment on the record-making and marketing process.
  • Library access: Electronic access extending as far back as 1988 via Proquest; library holdings include a combination of microfilm and microfiche covering 1963-present.

Television Business International

  • Description: Covers the production and distribution of TV programming in the international market, as well as comprehensive coverage of major programme markets, industry trends, territory and company profiles and interviews. TBI aims to update its readers on new research and developments in interactive TV and new media sectors.

  • Library access: Full-text access from Factiva (1995-2007) and Proquest (2001-2007).

Trade Associations