Skip to main content

Philosophy: Reference

Covers print and electronic resources for students of philosophy.

Indexes

  • International Philosophical Bibliography/Repertoire bibliographique de la philosophie/Bibliografisch repertorium van de wijsbegeerte, 1991-. Vols. 43-. Louvain: Institut Superieur de Philosophie, Université Catholique de Louvain/Hoger Instituut voor Wijsbegeerte, Katholieke Universiteit te Leuven, 1991-.
    Bobst REF1 Z7125 .R5
    From 1949 through 1990 (volumes), this index only carried the French title. It is useful as a supplement to the Philosopher's Index (see below) since it covers a number of non-English books and journals not included in the Philosopher's Index. The classification system is divided into chronological and geographical categories, as well as a systematic section, subdivided into the major areas of philosophy. The November issue, containing books reviews, includes a cumulated general name index for authors, translators, and reviewers.
  • The Philosopher's Index, 1967-1993. Vols. 1-27. Quarterly. Bowling Green, Ohio: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1967-1993. (There are also retrospective indexes with coverage from 1940).
    Bobst REF1 Z7125 .P37 and REF1 Z7127 .P475 1980 (retrospective)
    All major philosophy journals in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian are indexed. Also books in English. Subject and author listings with full bibliographic information and abstracts. A separate section of the index covers book reviews.
  • Philosophical Books, 1960-. Vols. 1-. Quarterly. Leicester, England: Leicester University Press, 1960-1978; Oxford: Basil Blackwell, 1978-.
    Bobst Z7125 .P4
    Internet: https://getit.library.nyu.edu/
    This is a quarterly journal that reviews new professional books and journals in philosophy. Emphasis on Anglo-American analytical philosophy.

Guides

  • Bynagle, Hans E. Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature. 2d ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 Z7125.B97 1997
    This outstanding guide is comprehensive in scope and contains several specialized lists as well as critical annotations.
  • Feinberg, Joel. Doing Philosophy: a Guide to the Writing of Philosophy Papers. 3rd ed. Belmont, CA: Thomson/Wadsworth, 2005. Bobst REF1 B52.7 .F45 2004
  • Heinz, Marion, and Sabine Doye. Feministische Philosophie: Bibliographie 1970-1995. Bielefeld: Kleine Verlag, 1996.
    Bobst HQ1190 .H45 1996
  • List, Charles J., and Stephen H. Plum. Library Research Guide to Philosophy. Ann Arbor: Pierian Press, 1990.
    NYU Bobst OffSite B52 .L57 1990
    For undergraduates facing a "research paper" assignment. Now somewhat dated, but still is of use. For example, it contains an explanation of the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
  • Magill, Frank N., with Ian P. McGreal, assoc. ed. World Philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works. 5 vols. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1982.
    Bobst REF1 B29.W68 1982
    Summaries of significant works as well as of commentaries on those works, each with its own recommended bibliography. Broad in scope with an emphasis on classical and modern western works.
  • Tice, Terence N., and Thomas P. Slavens. Research Guide to Philosophy. Chicago: American Library Association, 1983.
    Bobst REF1 B52 .T5 1983
    Includes reference sources (ca. 50 titles) and surveys significant works in 30 chapters covering the history of philosophy and its subject fields with evaluative annotations. Now somewhat dated, but still useful for certain periods.

Citations

Need help with representing and managing citations? Try the Citation Style Research Guide.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • Adler, Mortimer Jerome. Adler's Philosophical Dictionary. New York: Scribner, 1995.
    Bobst REF1 B945 .A2863 A3 1995
  • Audi, Robert, ed. The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
    Bobst REF1 B41 .C35 1999
    Now living philosophers are included.
  • Ayer, A.J., and Jane O'Grady, eds. A Dictionary of Philosophical Quotations. Oxford: Basil Blackwell, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 B68 .D53 1992
  • Blackburn, Simon. The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy 2nd edition. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 B41 .B53 1994
  • Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory. Edited by Elizabeth Kowaleski-Wallace. New York; London: Garland, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 PN98 .W64 E53 1997
    Even though this work foucuses on literary theory, it covers many philosophical concepts and includes a fair number of philosophers.
  • Encyclopedia of Philosophy, second edition. Edited by Donald M. Borchert. New York: Macmillan, 2006.
    Bobst REF1 B41 .E5 and online via Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Encyclopedie philosophique universelle. Edited by André Jacob. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1989-. Vols. 1-4 so far.
    Bobst REF1 B51 .E52 1989
  • Honderich, Ted, ed. The Oxford Companion to Philosophy. New Edition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
    Bobst REF1 B51 .O94 2005
  • Hutchinson Dictionary of Ideas. Oxford: Helicon, 1994; Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 CB9 .H872 1994
  • Lacey, A.R. Dictionary of Philosophy. 3rd ed. London: Routledge, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 B41 .L32 1996
  • Mautner, Thomas A. Dictionary of Philosophy. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 B41 .M38 1996
  • Reese, William L. Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought. Atlantic Highlands, NJ: Humanities Press, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 B41 .R43 1996
  • Ritter, Joachim, and Karlfried Grunder, eds. Historisches Wörterbuch der Philosophie. Basel/Stuttgart: Schwabe, 1971-.
    Bobst REF1 B43 .R59 1971
    Still in progress. 12 vols. Concepts, terms and schools. Extensive bibliographies.
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 10 vols. Ed. by Edward Craig. New York: Routledge, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 B51 .R68 1998
    Internet: http://arch.library.nyu.edu
    The most recent multi-volume encyclopedia of philosophy. Each entry is followed by a bibliography and a list of works by each philosopher featured. Volume 10 contains a key word index.
  • Schmidt, Heinrich. Philosophisches Wörterbuch. 22. Aufl., neu bearb. von George Schischkoff. Stuttgart: Alfred Kroner, 1991.
    Bobst B43 .P533 1991
    22 editions from 1912 to 1991. Covers especially German and European philosophy.
  • Sparkes, A.W. Talking Philosophy: A Wordbook. London and New York: Routledge, 1991.
    Bobst REF1 B49 .S63 1991
    Examines basic terminology of twentieth-century Anglophone philosophy.
  • Wilson, Ellen Judy. Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment. Peter Hanns Reill, consulting editor. New York: Facts on File, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 B802 .W48 1996

Directories

  • Directory of American Philosophers. Bowling Green, OH: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1963-.
    Bobst REF1 B935.D5 Latest Only
    Addresses, fax numbers, and e-mail addresses to members and departments.
  • International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers. Bowling Green, OH: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1965-.
    Bobst REF1 B35 .V3
    Excluding the United States and Canada.