Skip to main content

Philosophy: By Topic

Covers print and electronic resources for students of philosophy.

Philosophy of Science

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Science--Philosophy)

  • Durbin, Paul T. Dictionary of Concepts in the Philosophy of Science. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
    Bobst Q174.7 .D87 1988.
  • Grattan-Guinness, Ivor. Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences. London: Routledge, 1993. 2 vols.
    Bobst QA21.C645 1994
  • Mittelstrass, Jürgen, ed. Enzyklopädie Philosophie und Wissenschaftstheorie. Mannheim; Wien; Zurich: B.-I.-Wissenschaftsverlag, Bibliographisches Institut; [dann] Stuttgart; Weimar: J.B. Metzler, 1980-1986.
    Bobst REF1 B43 .E59 1995
  • Philosophy of Science, Logic and Mathematics in the Twentieth Century. Ed. by Stuart G. Shanker. London: Routledge, 1996.
    Bobst Q174.8.P55 1996

Ethics

ETHICS
(Subject Heading (LCSH)= ethics)

  • Becker, Lawrence C., and Charlotte R. Becker, eds. Encyclopedia of Ethics. 2nd Ed. New York: Garland, 2001. 3 vols.
    Bobst REF1 BJ63 .E45 2001
  • Bekoff, Marc, ed. with Carron A. Meaney. Foreword by Jane Goodall. Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
    Bobst REF1 HV4708 .E53 1998
  • Chadwick, Ruth, ed. Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. San Diego: Academy Press, [1997], 1998.
    Bobst REF1 BJ63.E42 1997
  • Clarke, Paul Barry, and Andrew Linzey. Dictionary of Ethics, Theology, and Society. London: Routledge, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 BJ63.D53 1996
  • Dictionnaire d'éthique et de philosophie morale. Ed. by Monique Canto-Sperber. Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 BJ63.B527 1996
  • Hester, Joseph P. Encyclopedia of Values and Ethics. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1996
    Bobst REF1 BJ63.H47 1996
  • Manzo, Bettina. The Animal Rights Movement in the United States, 1975-1990: An Annotated Bibliography. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1994.
    Bobst Z7164.C45 M38 1994
  • Roth, John K., et al. Ethics: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1991.
    Bobst Z5873.R68 1991
  • Roth, John K., ed. Ready Reference, Ethics. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1994. 3 vols.
    Bobst REF1 BJ63 .E54 1994
  • Singer, Peter, ed. A Companion to Ethics. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1991.
    Bobst REF1 BJ1012 .C62 1991.
  • Terkel, Susan Neiburg, ed. Encyclopedia of Ethics New York: Facts on File, 1999.
    Bobst REF1 BJ63 .E46 1999
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Rev. ed. Warren Thomas Reich, editor-in-chief. New York: Macmillan; London: Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1995. 5 vols.
    Bobst REF9 QH332 .E52 1995

Religion and Philosophy

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Religion--Philosophy)

  • A Companion to Philosophy of Religion. Ed. by Philip L. Quinn and Charles Taliaferro. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 BL51 .C634 1996.
  • The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen. Ed. by Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber, et. al. Trans. Michael H. Kohn, Karen Ready, and Werner Wunschude.
    Bobst REF1 BL1005. L4813 1989

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy, Oriental; Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy, Indic)

  • Collinson, Diané, and Robert Wilkinson. Thirty-five Oriental Philosophers. London: Routledge, 1994.
    Bobst B5005 .C65 1994
  • The Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. Ed. by Brian Carr and Indira Mahalingam. New York: Routledge, 1997.
    Bobst Ref1 B121 .C66 1997
  • De Bary, William T., and Embree Ainslie, eds. A Guide to Oriental Classics. 3rd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 1989.
    Bobst REF1 Z7046 .G8 1989
  • Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies. 9 vols. Ed. by Karl H. Potter. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidas, 1970- . Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1978- .
    Bobst REF1 B131 .E5
  • Grimes, John. A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy: Sanskrit Terms Defined in English. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1989.
    Bobst REF1 B131 .G67 1989
  • McGreal, Ian P., ed. Great Thinkers of the Eastern World: The Major Thinkers and the Philosophical and Religious Classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the World of Islam. New York: HarperCollins, 1995.
    Bobst REF1 B5005 .G74 1995

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy, Jewish)

  • Amsel, Nachum. The Jewish Encyclopedia of Moral and Ethical Issues. Northvale, NJ: J. Aronson, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 BJ1285 .A53 1994
  • Frank, Daniel H., and Oliver Leaman. History of Jewish Philosophy. London; New York: Routledge, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 B154 .H57 1997

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy, Islamic)

  • Corbin, Henry. History of Islamic Philosophy. Translated from the French by Liadain Sherrard with the assistance of Philip Sherrard. London; New York: Kegan Paul International, in association with Islamic Publications for The Institute of Ismaili Studies, 1993.
    B741 .C613 1993
  • Fakhry, Majid. A History of Islamic Philosophy. 3rd ed. New York: Columbia University Press : Longman, 2004
    B741 .F23 2004
  • History of Islamic Philosophy. Ed. by Seyyed Hossein Nasr and Oliver Leaman. London; New York: Routledge, 1995.
    B741 .H58 1996 pt 1-2.

 

 

 

Philosophy of Mind

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy of Mind)

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Cognitive Science)

  • Dunlop, Charles E.M. and James H. Fetzer. Glossary of Cognitive Science. New York: Paragon House, 1993.
    Bobst REF1 BF311 .D84 1993

Logic and Philosophy of Language

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Languages -- Philosophy)

  • A Companion to the Philosophy of Language. Ed. by Bob Hale and Crispin Wright. Oxford; Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 P06 .C5945 1997.
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language. Ed. by Peter V. Lamarque. Kidlington (U.K.): Pergamon, 1997.
    Bobst REF1 P106 .C5946 1997.

Aesthetics

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Aesthetics)

  • Cooper, David E. A Companion to Aesthetics. Oxford; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 BH56 .C65 1992.
  • Kelly, Michael, ed. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
    Bobst REF1 BH56 .E53 1998, vols. 1-4.

Epistemology

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Epistemology)

  • Dancy, Jonathan, and Ernest Sosa.A Companion to Epistemology. Oxford: Blackwell, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 BD161 .C637 1992.
  • Fetzer, James H., and Robert F. Almeder. Glossary of Epistemology/Philosophy of Science. New York: Paragon House, 1993.
    Bobst REF1 BD150.F47 1993

Metaphysics

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Metaphysics)

  • Burkhardt, Hans, and Barry Smith, eds. Handbook of Metaphysics and Ontology. München: Philosophia, 1991. 2 vols.
    Bobst REF1 BD111.H225 1991
  • Kim, Jaeqwon, and Ernest Sosa, eds. A Companion to Metaphysics. Oxford: Blackwell, 1995.
    Bobst REF1 BD111 .C626 1994.

Political Philosophy

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Political Science--Philosophy)

  • Bottomore, Tom, et al. Dictionary of Marxist Thought. 2nd. ed. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1991.
    Bobst REF1 HX17.D5 1991
  • Goodin, Robert E., and Philip Pettit, eds. A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy. Oxford: Blackwell, 1993.
    Bobst REF1 JA71 .C565 1993.
  • Raynaud, Philippe, and Stephane Rials. Dictionnaire de philosophie politique. Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 B65 .D54 1996
  • The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers. 2nd. ed. Ed. by Robert Benewick and Philip Green. London: Routledge, 1998.
    Bobst REF1 JA83 .R725 1998