Skip to main content

Philosophy: By Historical Period

Covers print and electronic resources for students of philosophy.

General History of Philosophy

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= History -- Philosophy)

Consult the series:
(-Series Titles=) Routledge History of Philosophy

  • Popkin, Richard H., ed. The Columbia History of Western Philosophy. New York: Columbia University Press, 1999.
    Bobst REF1 B72 .P55 1999
    Traces the history of western philosophy beginning with the pre-Socratics and ending with continental philosophy at the turn of the twenty-first century.
  • Scharfstein, Ben-Ami. A Comparative History of World Philosophy: From the Upanishads to Kant. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1998.
    REF1 B799 .S37 1998

(Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophers)

Please consult the following series by conducting a "-Series Title" phrase search in BobCat:
(-Series Title) Blackwell Philosopher Dictionaries and
(-Series Title) Social Theory. Compiled by Joan Nordquist. Santa Cruz,CA: Reference and Research Services, 1986- no. 1-.

  • Barth, Else M. Women Philosophers: A Bibliography of Books Through 1990. Bowling Green, OH: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 Z7125.B34 1992
  • Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth Century Philosophers. Ed. by Stuart Brown, Diané Collinson, and Robert Wilkinson. London: Routledge, 1996.
    Bobst REF1 B804.B52 1996
  • Goulet, Richard, ed. Dictionnaire de philosophes antiques. Paris: Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1989. Vols. 1-.
    Bobst REF1 B112.D52 1989
    In progress. Aims at comprehensive coverage of ancient philosophers. Bibliographies of primary and secondary works, listing of fragments, and iconography (portraits, etc.).
  • Kersey, Ethel M., with Calvin O. Schrag, consulting ed.Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book. Westport, CO: Greenwood Press, 1989.
    Bobst REF1 B105.W6 K47 1989
  • McGreal, Ian P., ed. Great Thinkers of the Western World: The Major Ideas and Classic Works of More Than 100 Outstanding Western Philosophers, Physical and Social Scientists, Psychologists, Religious Writers, and Theologians. New York: HarperCollins, 1992.
    Bobst REF1 B72.G74 1992
  • Meyer, Ursula I., and Heidemarie Bennent-Vahle.Philosophinnen-Lexikon. Aachen: ein-FACH, 1994.
    Bobst REF1 B105.W6 P48 1994

 

Ancient and Medieval Philosophy

    (Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy, Ancient)

    • Brunschwig, Jacques and Geoffrey Lloyd, eds. Le savoir grec: dictionnaire critique. Paris: Flammarion, 1996.
      Bobst REF1 B172 .B78 1996
    • Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Ed. by Donald J. Zeyl. Assoc. eds. Daniel T. Devereux and Phillip K. Mitsis. Westport,CT: Greenwood, 1997.
      Bobst REF1 B163 .E53 1997
    • Goulet, Richard, ed. Dictionnaire de philosophes antiques. Paris: Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1989. 3 Vols. and supplement
      Bobst REF1 B112 .D52 1989
      Aims at comprehensive coverage of ancient philosophers. Bibliographies of primary and secondary works, listing of fragments, and iconography (portraits, etc.).
    • Guthrie, W.K.C. A History of Greek Philosophy. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1962-1981. 6 vols.
      Bobst B171 .G92
    • Navia, Luis E. The Philosophy of Cynicism: An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995.
      Bobst REF1 B508 .N38 1995
    • Urmson, J.O. The Greek Philosophical Vocabulary. London: Duckworth, 1990.
      Bobst PA443 .U757 1990
    • Navia, Luis E. The Presocratic Philosophers: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1993
      Bobst REF1 Z7128 .P83 N38 1993

    (Subject Heading (LCSH)= Philosophy, medieval)

    • Hackett, Jeremiah, ed. Medieval Philosophers. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992.
      Bobst REF1 B721.M45 1992
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia. New York, McGraw-Hill, 1967-.
      Bobst Ref1 BX841.N44 1967

     

      Contemporary

      (Subject Heading = Analysis (Philosophy))

      • Kellerwessel, Wulf, ed. A Bibliography on Reference and Some Related Topics in Analytical Philosophy. Frankfurt am Main: Peter Lang, 1996.
        Bobst REF1 Z7128 .R44 B53 1996
      • Outhwaite, William, and Tom Bottomore, eds. The Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Social Thought. Cambridge: Blackwell, 1993.
        Bobst REF1 H41 .B53 1992

      (Subject Heading = Logic)

      • Detlefsen, Michael. Logic from A to Z. London: Routledge, 1999.
        Bobst QA9 .D48 1999
      • Quine, W. V. Philosophy of Logic. 2nd ed. 1986.
        Bobst BC51 .Q5 1986

      (Subject Heading = Phenomenology)

      • Encyclopedia of Phenomenology. Edited by Lester Embree et al. Dordrecht; Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1997.
        Bobst REF1 B829.5 .E53 1997

      (Subject Heading = Philosophy of Mind)

      (Subject Heading = Existentialism)

      • Gordon, Haim, ed. Dictionary of Existentialism. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999.
        Bobst REF1 B819 .D455 1999

      (Subject Heading = Feminist Theory)

      • Andermahr, Sonya. A Glossary of Feminist Theory. New York: St. Martin Press, 1997.
        Bobst HQ1190 .A53 1997 Non-circulating
      • Boles, Janet K. Historical Dictionary of Feminism. Lanham (Md.): Scarecrow Press, 1996.
        Bobst REF1 HQ1115 .B65 1996
      • Gamble, Sarah, ed. The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism. New York: Routledge, 2000.
        Bobst REF1 HQ1115 .R68 2000
      • Jaggar, Alison M. and Iris M. Young, eds. A Companion to Feminist Philosophy. Malden, MA: Blackwell, 1998.
        Bobst REF1 HQ1190 .C665 1998
      • Kowaleski-Wallace, Elizabeth. Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory. New York: Garland, 1997.
        Bobst REF1 PN98 .W64 E53 1997
      • Kramarae, Cheris. A Feminist Dictionary. London: Pandora Press, 1985.
        Bobst REF1 HQ1115 .K73 1985
      • Nordquist, Joan. Feminist Theory: A Bibliography. Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1992.
        Bobst Z7161.A22 S6 no.28
      • Tuttle, Lisa. Encyclopedia of Feminism. New York: Facts of File Publications, 1986.
        Bobst HQ1115 .T87 1986 Non-circulating

      (s=philosophy, European)

      • Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy. Ed. by Simon Glendinning. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Pubs, 1999.
        Bobst REF1 B804 .E44 1999.