Skip to main content

US Government Documents: FDLP Basic Collection

This guide contains information for users of NYU's US Government Documents collection and other US government information.

FDLP Basic Collection

American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a product of the U.S. Census Bureau that provides population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data for the United States, Puerto Rico, and other Island areas.

Access

Ben’s Guide to the US Government
Ben’s Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government.

Access

Budget of the United States

The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President’s budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the year.

Access

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA), provides detailed program descriptions for over 2,000 Federal assistance programs.

Access

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is a finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Access

 

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) contains the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Browse CFR at GPO.gov or Electronic CFR

Congressional Directory

Congressional Directory is the official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate, House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts.

Access

Congressional Record

Congressional Record (daily), is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress (House and Senate).

Access the daily Congressional Record at congress.gov

 

Constitution of the United States: Analysis and Interpretation

 

 

(Daily) Compilation of Presidential Documents

The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents contain formal Presidential orders and statements, remarks at press conferences, messages to Congress, agencies and foreign leaders, as well as other materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Access

 

Economic Indicators

Economic Indicators provides economic information on Gross Domestic Product (GDP), Income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, federal finance and international statistics.

Access

Economic Report of the President

The Economic Report of the President is produced by the Council of Economic Advisers, an agency within the Executive Office of the President.  The report is transmitted to Congress each year within ten days of the submission of the Budget of the United States.

Access

FDsys

FDsys is the (GPO’s) Government Publishing Office Federal Digital System that provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal government.

Search/browse FDsys

 

Federal Register

The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

Access

 

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides occupational and career information, and profiles the majority of occupations in the United States. 

Browse/search

 

 

Public Papers of the Presidents

The Public Papers of the Presidents contain most of the President’s public messages, statements, speeches and news conference remarks.

  1. Browse Public Papers for George H.W. Bush, William J. Clinton, George W. Bush, and Barack H. Obama here.

 

  1. Browse Public Papers for Presidents from 1789 to present at The American Presidency Project

 

 

Social Security Handbook

The Social Security Handbook is no longer available in print format.  The handbook can be accessed online at Social Security Administration/ssa.gov

 

United States Code

The US Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The US code does not include regulations issued by executive branch agencies, decisions of the Federal courts, treaties, or laws issued by State or local governments.

Access

 

 

US Government Manual

The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal government.  The handbook provides comprehensive and authoritative information on legislative, judicial and executive branches.  Information is also included on quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees

Access

 

 

United States Reports

The United States Reports contain the official records of the rulings, orders, case tables (list of every case decided), and other proceedings of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Access

 

 

US Statutes at Large

The Statutes at Large is the official record of Acts of Congress and concurrent resolutions passed by the United States Congress. 

Access

 

 

 

 

FDLP Basic Collection