Skip to main content

Theater of the Real: Finding Articles

How to find Plays written, compiled, or even improvised directly from ‘documentary’ sources.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Other Important Databases

Limiting to "Peer Reviewed" Articles

"Peer reviewed"  (or "refereed" journals) are those that subject content to a critical review by other experts in the field prior to accepting a manuscript for publication. Thus, limiting your literature search to the peer-reviewed journals ensures a higher level of scholarship and research methodology.  Magazines, trade journals, and newspapers tend to be "non-peer-reviewed," meaning perhaps just the editor or someone who is not an expert in the field has reviewed the content before publishing.  How do you know if a journal citation is from a peer-reviewed journal?

  • You can do a journal title search in Ulrich's Global Serials Directory.  The symbol:   indicates a journal is "refereed"
  • You can look for the "Limits" feature in many databases to narrow search results by publication type.

How to search for articles

Articles & Databases
Not all the Library databases are available here, so you may need to consult our complete list of databases.

Also See: the Theatre Performance Studies Page for a list of International databases https://guides.nyu.edu/Theatre

Popular Databases

Studies in Documentary Film

Although primarily a journal about cinema you will find many interesting articles pertaining to the Documentary experience.