Skip to main content

International and Comparative Education: Research Resources

This is a guide for getting started in finding research resources in international education

About this page

The article literature is central to the work of both education researchers and practitioners. The article databases listed here allow you to search the contents of thousands of journals simultaneously. In the databases listed here, you'll find journal articles and grey literature (think tank or government reports and studies - materials published outside the traditional academic publishing channels).

3 things to remember!

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search.

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a commercial resource. We don't know what Google Scholar is searching, and we don't know what it's not searching. But it exists and you likely use it.

Since Google Scholar does not necessarily include the text of the citations it lists, you can change your Scholar settings to find results at NYU. Google Scholar does NOT search all of NYU's licensed databases.

One useful feature is the "Cited by" feature at the bottom of each citation. This link can lead to other resources that cite the original citation.

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.

Article Databases

Doing research in international education areas, you will most likely need to make use of resources from a few different areas and subjects.Try to be flexible in what resources you use, and remember to vary your terms (and maybe even the language of your terms!)

To access the electronic resources on this list, click on the name below. If off campus, you will be asked for your NYU NetID and Password (same as NYUHome) and then sent into the database.