Skip to main content

Printed Ephemera Collections at Tamiment Library: Organizations

A guide to the Printed Ephemera Collections at NYU's Tamiment Library

Description

The Printed Ephemera Collection on Organizations, PE 036 contains fliers, broadsides, leaflets, newspaper clippings, pamphlets, press releases, and programs arranged alphabetically by organization.

The collection represents thousands of organizations that are political, anti-war, legal, student and radical in nature. Examples which include the Black Panthers, Workers' Defense League, American Labor Party, Social Democratic Federation of America and New England Free Press, demonstrate the depth and diversity of this collection.  

Often times, formed for a specific purpose for a limited period of time, certain organizations have very short date-spans and the folders will contain an end date.  For other organizations, dating is open-ended as material may be added; therefore the folder will note a beginning date but no end date, e.g, 1914-.

Images from the Collection

 

Images from left to right:

First Row:

"The People Will Free the Panther 21" - Collection: PE 036, Box: 14, Folder: Black Panther Party II

"Don't be a Scab at the Ballot Box" - Collection: PE 036, Box: 8, Folder: American Labor Party: New York State, 1936-1942

Second Row:

"All Out May 1st" - Collection: PE 036, Box: 101, Folder: United May Day Committees

"Refuse to Pay Taxes for War" - Collection: PE 036, Box: 106, Folder: War Tax Resistance I

Anarchist Organizations

Below is a list of anarchist organizations that can be found in the Printed Ephemera Collection on Organizations, PE 036. It is not comprehensive, as some anarchist groups were no doubt overlooked. However, it should prove to be a good starting point for researchers on anarchism and anarchist organizations. One can also consult the Printed Ephemera Collection on Subjects, PE 029, where general material on anarchism and anarchists can be found as well.

ABC No Rio
Ad Hoc Group for American Anarchism
AK Press
American Anarchist Magazine
American Federation of Anarchists
Anarchist Archives Project
Anarchist Book Fair
Anarchist Coalition (Ann Arbor, Mich.)
Anarchist Communist Alliance
Anarchist Communist Federation of North America
Anarchist Federation (Glasgow, Scotland)
Anarchist Federation of America
Anarchist Prisoners Defense and Aid Committee of America
Anarchs of New York (Organization)
Anarkismo Net
Anti-Authoritarian Revolutionary Movement
Asociacion Libertaria de Cuba
Associated Anarchists
Australian Anarchist Centenary Celebration Collective
Autonomedia
Black Flag
Black Mask (New York, N.Y.)
Black Rose Books
Blackout Books (New York, N.Y.)
Blast Group (San Francisco, California)
Centre international de recherches sur l'anarchisme
Centro studi libertari Pinelli
Chicago Anarchist Black Cross
Confederacion Nacional del Trabajo (Spain)
Deutsche-Anarcho-Syndikalisten
Editorial Argonauta (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Federacion Anarquista Internacional, Chile
Federacion Iberica de Juventudes Libertarias
Federation of the Russian Anarchist-Communist Groups of U.S.A. and Canada
Fraye arbeter shtime
Free Society Group of Chicago
Freedom Press (London, England)
Freegan.info
Friends of Malatesta
Gruppy Russkikh Anarkhistov
Innergalatic Psychic Police (New York, N.Y.)
Institute for Anarchist Studies
International Anarchist Group of Detroit
International Symposium on Anarchism (1st : 1980 : Portland, Or.)
Jewish Anarchist Committee
Jewish Anarchist Community
Kate Sharpley Library (London, England)
Kropotkin Society
Kropotkin's Lighthouse Publications
Labadie Collection (Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library)
League for Mutual Aid (U.S.)
Libertarian Workers Group
London Anarchist Communist Alliance
Longing for a Collapse Press
Love and Rage Revolutionary Anarchist Federation
Misled Youth
Mohegan Modern School (Crompond, N.Y.)
New Space Books (Firm)
New York Anarchist Black Cross
New York Anarchists
New York Federation of Anarchists
New York Metro Allicance of Anarchists
New York Provo
North American Anarchist Gathering (2002: Lawrence, Kansas)
Northwest Extra (Firm)
Our generation (Montreal, Quebeq)
Paper Tiger Television
Phoenix Anarchist Coalition (Ann Arbor, Mich.)
Radical Reference
S.U. Anarchist Group (Great Britain)
Social anarchism
Social Revolutionary Anarchist Federation
Social Science Club (Philadelphia, Pa.)
Tiamat
Vseobshchii Soiuz Anarckhistov
Woodstock Anarchist Party
Workers Solidarity Alliance
Young Eclectic Liberation Leaders!