Skip to main content

Printed Ephemera Collections at Tamiment Library: Individuals

A guide to the Printed Ephemera Collections at NYU's Tamiment Library

Description

The Library's Printed Ephemera Collection on Individuals, PE 030 contains leaflets, fliers, pamphlets and other publications related to individuals of relevance to the Tamiment Library. Each folder may contain anywhere from a single leaflet to several folders of material about a specific individual. Individuals represented include Angela Davis, Irving Howe, Vito Marcantonio, Paul Robeson, Ethel and Julius Rosenberg, and I.F. Stone.  In the past, the Tamiment kept separate "author" and "biographical" files and all extant material from the archives related to an individual, whether authored by that person or about that person, was included in the file.  In keeping with efforts to streamline the collection and facilitate access, the archivists combined all materials related to an individual to create one file.

 

Researchers today have easy access to information about indivuduals in readily available sources such as Wikipedia, but the original documents contained in these printed ephemera files add texture and an artifactual dimension to research.

Images from the Collection

 

Images from left to right:

First Row 

"A Word to Young People" - Collection: PE 030, Box: 5, Folder: Debs, Eugene V. (Eugene Victor), 1855-1926 I

"The Negro People and the Soviet Union" - Collection: PE 030, Box: 24, Folder: Robeson, Paul, 1898-1976 III 

Second Row

"Last Four Lectures" - Collection: PE 030, Box: 9, Folder: Goldman, Emma, 1869-1940 I

"Parents to Die on..." - Collection: PE 030, Box: 24, Folder: Rosenberg, Ethel, 1915-1953 and Rosenberg, Julius, 1918-1953