Skip to main content

Alternative Serials in the Tamiment Library: Digitized Serials

A guide to finding and using alternative serials collections in the Tamiment Library, a special collection at Bobst Library focusing on Labor and the Left.

The Masses

NYU Libraries has digitized The Masses, a richly illustrated radical magazine published in New York from 1911 to 1917.  Frequently called "the most dangerous magazine in America," The Masses contained the artwork and writing of many important radical literary figures of the time.  Researches can access the digital edition by clicking here.

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels

"The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform."  As of February 2012, the database contains 248 comic series, 1,408 comic books totalling 88,297 pages.  Go to this database.

Collections of Titles

Following are links to selected sources of digitized serials. The list includes both freely available resources and subscription databases available to the NYU community.  It spans a range of alternative and mainstream publications.  A recommended first stop for researchers is the Internet Archive.

Databases by Subject: Labor & The Left

The list of databases on the Bobst Library website under the heading Labor & The Left includes additional sources of alternative publications online along with databases offering background information, scholarly articles, and primary sources.

Individual Titles

Following are links to selected sources of digitized serials, both alternative and mainstream. Some of the sources are freely available resources while others are subscription databases available to the NYU community from the links below.