Skip to main content

Alternative Serials in the Tamiment Library: Reference Tools

A guide to finding and using alternative serials collections in the Tamiment Library, a special collection at Bobst Library focusing on Labor and the Left.

Reference Sources for Researching Serials

Ulrich's International Periodical Directory Online
"The authoritative source of detailed information on periodicals of all types -- academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world." Especially useful for finding out which databases index particular serials. This subscription database is available to NYU-affiliated researchers from this link.

In addition to the periodical guides and indexes mentioned in this research guide, there are numerous encyclopedias, biographical sources, chronologies, bibliographies, and secondary sources to assist with serials research. There are also two notable websites for current alternative press research:

Alternative Press Center’s Online Directory
The Alternative Press Center (APC) is a non-profit collective dedicated to providing access to and increasing public awareness of the alternative press.

NewPages: Alternatives in Print & Media
Comprehensive coverage of indie bookstores, alternative magazines, alt news weeklies, zines, indie record labels, book publishers, book reviews, blogs & news sites, and more.

See the Periodical Indexes tab in this research guide for help finding articles within alternative publications.

See the Periodical Guides tab in the research guide for assistance identifying newspapers and journals with a particular slant or focus.  

Little Magazines & Modernism: A Select Bibliography

A handy website compiled by undergraduate students at Davidson College enrolled in the course ENG486/7: Modernism in Magazines that "gathers bibliographic information about modernist little magazines in one central, accessible location."  Little Magazines & Modernism: A Select Bibliography.

Reference Sources for Labor & The Left

Databases by Subject:  Labor & The Left
Consult databases containing scholarly articles, news, background information, primary sources, and more.

Encyclopedia of the American Left. 2nd ed. Mari Jo Buhle, Paul Buhle, and Dan Georgakas. (New York: Oxford University Press, 1998). Includes articles on the people, organizations, movements and events related to labor in the U.S.   

Tamiment Library Research Guides & Tools
Consult research guides on a wide variety of topics relating to Labor & the Left on Tamiment's website. 

General Reference Sources

Consult the Quick Reference Research Guide for help finding general interest encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources and more.

NYC Newspapers List

The article on newspapers in the The Encyclopedia of New York City provides a history and bibliography of the press in NYC.  It includes lists of 18th Century newspapers, daily newspapers arranged by date of first publication, foreign language papers, and more.