Economics

Convenient source for current economic indicators, with links to data supplied by many Federal agencies. Historical access varies depending on the indicator and the agency.

Covers general business indicators, commodity prices, labor force, employment and earnings, foreign trade, finance and more, as well as industry coverage, and business cycle indicators with charts. A special August issue, "National Income and Product Accounts: Annual Estimates" is especially noteworthy.

Historical compilation of the estimates of the national income and product accounts covered in the Survey of Current Business. These figures show the production, distribution and use of the nation's output.

Provides descriptions as well as data on labor statistics covering employment, unemployment, hours, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes, wages and work stoppages.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is a web-based research solutions tool. The datasets are sourced from reputable public and private organizations and cover topics across 16 broad subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, and trade, housing and construction, and much more. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with 37 fields of metadata including DOI, summary-level visualizations of the data, descriptions, titles, geographic entities, data-specific elements, and standardized citations. Users can access all the available views for each data series and download the data from each DataSheet. ** Data-Planet requires Java - JVM Version 1.4.2 to operate. **

Contains current U.S. banking and monetary statistics, including federal finance, interest rates on money and capital markets, stock market indexes, new security issues, mortgage markets, flow of funds, consumer installment credit, and interest and exchange rates.

Gathers and assembles data from many federal agencies based on the statistical series which were formerly presented in the Bureau of Economic Analysis' Business Statistics.

Contains historical data for the statistics reported in the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Prior to 1970, historical statistics may be found in Banking and Monetary Statistics 1914-1941, 1941-1970.

Contains approximately 72,000 time-series data sets that include components of the consumer Price Index, per-capita personal income, and unemployment statistics for small geographic areas in the United States.

Allows users to download data sets from a specific date in history (as far back as 1927 in some cases).

Contains PDFs of economics related government publications dating back to the foundation of the US Department of Treasury in 1789.

Contains most recent data about the state of the economy (data sets such as the Aruoba-Diebold-Scotti Business Conditions Index) and professional economists' predictions about the direction of the economy (examples include the semiannual Livingston Survey and the quarterly Survey of Professional Forecasters). Also contains historical data such as the Semiannual Monetary Policy Report to the Congress and the Greenbook.

This links to a map of all Federal Reserve regions with links to the Federal Reserve Bank websites. All Federal Reserve Banks gather data about their respective geographic areas, including monthly surveys of manufacturers or other businesses in the region and state-level indices of economic indicators.

The St. Louis Fed On the Economy blog features relevant commentary, analysis, research and data from our economists and other St. Louis Fed experts.

Data on publicly traded companies, which are required to file periodic reports with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Reports include revenues, cash flows, profits or losses, and executive compensation.

Survey of business with employees regarding the nature of their business as well as their revenues, expenses, inventories, payroll, and number of employees.

Data on sales or revenues, inventories, and expenses for specific industries.

Data on sales or revenues, inventories, and expenses for specific industries.

Data on sales or revenues, inventories, and expenses for specific industries.

Contains data about tax revenues and expenditures for state and local governments and employment by federal, state, and local governments, including local public school districts.

Provides microdata about government spending and the ways (e.g. individual contracts and grants) in which the federal government gives money to corporations, not-for-profit organizations, and state and local government agencies

Standardizes government spending data sets so they can be viewed as interactive treemaps or downloaded.

Includes four types of macroeconomic accounts data: national income and product accounts, industry accounts, regional accounts, and international accounts.

Provides data on individual commercial and savings banks, including data on types of income, expenses, assets, and liabilities.

Data on individual loans from 2009 to present.

Distributes data from 1994 to present about credit unions such as amounts of loans, investments, and assets held by the credit unions or credit unions' income and expenses. Data is also available on number of current members as well as potential members.

Annual survey that examines the lending practices of large national banks for changes in underwriting standards and credit risks.