Skip to main content

Nursing Resources: A Self-Paced Tutorial and Refresher: 1.6 Databases

An online instructional tool to orient users to the NYU virtual environment: books, databases, articles, more.

1.6 Selecting and Using Article Databases

When selecting a database to start with, consider the time frame as well as the coverage of your topic.

  • For example, CINAHLPlus covers more than 3,800 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937.
  • All searchers of nursing information should always search MEDLINE (PubMed), the premier biomedical database, because it indexes many of the international nursing journals that are not indexed in CINAHL and contains articles of interest to nurses that are published in biomedical journals.
     
  • PsycINFO is a major database covering the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences, with selected coverage back to the 19th century. When your topic has any psychosocial or behavioral aspect, consider PsycINFO.
     
  • Proquest Central is multidisciplinary resource for research on contemporary topics or for the beginning stages of a research project. Offers citations from a wide range of English language academic journals, news magazines, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

The above list is just a sample of health sciences databases. The BOX on the right links to full lists of health sciences databases at your library>>>

Where to begin?

 

 

I am looking for...

 

Start searching in: 

Database description

A sample result:

A recent article in the New York Times about a malaria drug. Proquest Central A multidisciplinary resource for research on contemporary topics or for the beginning stages of a research project. Offers citations from a wide range of English language academic journals, news magazines, and newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

McNeil, D. (2012, January 17). For intrigue, malaria drug gets the prize. The New York Times, p. D1.
https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/9359519

Evidence of the relationship between dementia and caffeine consumption

Proquest Central
(for recent popular newspaper article)




 

Medline/Pubmed
(for scholarly biomedical research)

A multidisciplinary resource for research on contemporary topics or for the beginning stages of a research project. Offers citations from a wide range of English language academic journals, news magazines, and newspapers including New York Times and Wall Street Journal.


Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

Nicholas Bakalar (2007, August 14). Caffeine Helps Women, But Not Men, Stay Sharp. New York Times (Late Edition (East Coast), p. F6.
https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/3595671





Eskelinen, MH, Ngandu, T, Tuomilehto, J, et al. (2009). Midlife coffee and tea drinking and the risk of late-life dementia: A population-based CAIDE study. Journal of Alzheimer's Disease, 16(1), 85-91.
https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/3595691

Research on the use of physical restraints in nursing homes

CINAHL Plus

A database specialized in nursing and allied health, indexes over 3,800 journals, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937.

Capezuti E, Strumpf N, Evans L, & Maislin G.(1999). Outcomes of nighttime physical restraint removal for severely impaired nursing home residents. American Journal of Alzheimer's Disease, 14(3), 157.
https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/3595781

Research on treatment for PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder) PsycINFO Indexes more than 2150 journal titles with abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.

Feske, U. (2008). Treating low-income and minority women with posttraumatic stress disorder: A pilot study comparing prolonged exposure and treatment as usual conducted by community therapists. Journal of interpersonal violence, 23(8), 1027-1040.  https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/3595809

The best evidence available about umbilical cord care

CINAHL Plus

 



Medline/Pubmed
(for scholarly biomedical research)

A database specialized in nursing and allied health, indexes over 3,800 journals, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937.

 

Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

McDonald SJ, & Middleton P. (2013). Effect of timing of umbilical cord clamping of term infants on maternal and neonatal outcomes. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, (7),  https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/9431185

Hodgins, S. (2010).  Chlorhexidine gel versus aqueous for preventive use on umbilical stump: a randomized noninferiority trial. The Pediatric Infectious Disease Journal, 29(11), 999-1003.
https://getit.library.nyu.edu/go/3598682

 

 

Click Forward to go to Module 1.7.

Linking to Health Sciences Databases

Use the links below to access a list of health sciences databases at the library on your campus: