Skip to main content

Nursing Resources: A Self-Paced Tutorial and Refresher: 1.9 Locating the Full Text

An online instructional tool to orient users to the NYU virtual environment: books, databases, articles, more.

Locating the Full Text of an Article

 From a database article citation, look for a link to a "full text"  icon for your campus library (SEE BOX ON RIGHT). Or you may see words: full text OR  "pdf"
 

  • The "get-it" or link displays options for the full text if available via your library's electronic subscriptions. 
     
  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available electronically, use the link for other options, e.g., the library catalog, to locate a hard copy.
  • If the journal title (or year of publication) is not available in Bobcat or your library catalog, look for a link to Interlibrary Loan to order.
     

Below is an example of a PubMed/Medline citation and the link to full text:

 

Remember to look for the link from an article citation to full text options for your library:

  • AT WASHINGTON SQUARE/BOBST LIBRARY: Click on the NYU icon:    
     
  • At NYU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY (Langone) click on this icon for full text options: 

 

Click Forward to go to Module 1.10.

Find the Full Text of an Article from a Database?

Find the Full Text of an Article from a Citation.

Locating full text at your library

From a database citation, look for the link to full text options for your library:

  • AT WASHINGTON SQUARE/BOBST LIBRARY: Click on the NYU icon:    

  • At NYU HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY (NYU SoM/Langone MC) click on this icon for full text options: 
  • At LEVY LIBRARY (Mount Sinai School of Medicine), click on the Levy Library FIND IT icon: