Skip to main content

Nursing Resources: A Self-Paced Tutorial and Refresher: 2.4 Filtering in CINAHL

An online instructional tool to orient users to the NYU virtual environment: books, databases, articles, more.

Limiting in CINAHLPlus

Limiting by publication type in CINAHLPlus

CINAHLPlus Indexes >3,800 journals from the fields of nursing & allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, PT, health education, social service, healthcare, OT, & related disciplines.


CINAHLPlus at NYU is available from: http://arch.library.nyu.edu/databases/proxy/NYU00202

 Step 1

Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5

More limiting strategies in CinahlPlus:
  • Limit to publication type: Systematic Review (indicates a research process in which a concept is identified and the research that has studied it is analyzed and evaluated. Results are synthesized to present the current state of knowledge regarding the concept. Includes integrated or integrative reviews).
  • Browse the many Publication types; notice the range from case study or letter (lower levels of evidence) to Systematic Reviews and Clinical Trials (higher levels of evidence).
  • Using the CINAHL “Evidence-based Practice” limiter includes “Research” articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analyses, etc.)  as well as articles from evidence-based practice journals, articles about evidence-based practice, and commentaries on research studies (applying practice to research). Use with caution; every result may not be an evidence-based study.
Advanced Searchers:  
  • Limit using Clinical Queries filter in five research areas:  Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, Causation (Etiology)
  • High Sensitivity is the broadest search, to include ALL relevant material. It may also include less relevant materials.
  • High Specificity is the most targeted search to include only the most relevant result set. May miss some relevant materials.
  • Best Balance retrieves the best balance between Sensitivity and Specificity.
A detailed explanation of the strategies behind these limits can be found at http://hiru.mcmaster.ca/hiru/HIRU_Hedges_home.aspx

 

Click on the Forward button to go to Module 2.5


CINAHLPlus

CINAHLPlus

  • CINAHLPlus Indexes >3,800 journals from the fields of nursing & allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, PT, health education, social service, healthcare, OT, & related disciplines.
     
  • Direct link to CINAHLPlus (opens in a new tab)

Linking to Health Sciences Databases

Use the links below to access a list of health sciences databases at the library on your campus: