Skip to main content

Nursing Resources: A Self-Paced Tutorial and Refresher: 2.5 Filtering in Medline (PubMed)

An online instructional tool to orient users to the NYU virtual environment: books, databases, articles, more.

Limiting using popular Filters in Medline via PubMed

 

 

 

Medline
(via PubMed)

Medline (via Pubmed or Ovid) is the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Contains >20 million records from more than 5200 journals. (More about Medline)

Unlike CINAHLPlus, Medline does not have a publication type that simply says “Research,” and it does not have a filter for "peer-reviewed," but you may filter your results for higher levels of evidence by limiting to Article type, for example, “clinical trial or meta-analysis or randomized controlled trial.”

Medline (via PubMed) @ NYU is available from: http://arch.library.nyu.edu/databases/proxy/NYU00068

 

 

 Step 1

  Step 2

Step 3

Step 4

Step 5
Step 6 
Another way to search

If the popular filters described above do not include your "study type," try a search using PubMed MeSH terms available for study methodologies:

 

More about PubMed filters:

*PubMed Clinical Queries display citations filtered to a specific clinical study category and scope. (Pubmed equivalents)

*PubMed Special Queries provide preformulated interfaces for:

Click on the Forward button to go to Module 2.6 

back

Medline/PubMed

  • Medline (via Pubmed or Ovid) is the premier source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Contains >20 million records from more than 5200 journals. 
  • Direct link to PubMed @ NYU  (opens in new tab)