Skip to main content

Tamiment Library Research Guides & Tools: Access Policies

Research guides and tools for the Tamiment Library's collections.

Reference Queries

Researchers may get assistance using Tamiment's collections in person during our open hours. They may also call our reference desk at 212-998-2630 or send an email to request help.

Research Visits and Library Services

All researchers wishing to use archival collections and researchers unaffiliated with NYU wishing to use the Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives must register to use the collections, which entails filling out a registration form and showing a valid photo ID. They will then receive a Tamiment Library Reader's Card with an ID number required on various public service forms.

We ask that researchers observe the following: Sign in each day; hang up all coats and outerwear; store large bags in the lockers provided; use pencils to take notes; and handle materials carefully. No food or beverages are allowed in the reading room. Cell phones are not permitted.

 

There are two PCs in the Tamiment Library's Reading Room on which researchers may access BobCat, New York University's library catalog, the Tamiment Library website, and other electronic resources. 

Researchers may also bring laptops with them to the Tamiment Library and NYU-affiliated researchers may use NYURoam, NYU's secure wireless network.

 

With the exception of reference titles on open shelves in the Reading Room, the Tamiment Library's books, serials, oral history interviews, printed ephemera, and archival collections are held in closed stacks. Most of the library's holdings are represented in BobCat, NYU's online catalog.

To request books, serials, and microfilm, researchers should fill out a call slip for each title. To request archival materials, printed ephemera, and oral history interviews, researchers should fill out an Archival Request Form per collection.  All Tamiment Library materials must be used on site. Materials do not circulate.

A number of the Tamiment Library's archival collections and some serials and monographs are housed in offsite storage.   Materials requested from offsite storage before 3:00 p.m. are often available early in the afternoon the next business day. Contact staff at the library's reference desk at 212-998-2630 or tamiment.wagner@nyu.edu to request materials from offsite storage.

 

NYU Faculty and Graduate Assistants may request an instruction session at the Tamiment Library tailored to the research needs of the class. Please fill out an online request form if you would like to bring your class to the library. The online form is used for all Bobst Library instruction requests. Library staff will contact you to make arrangements. Please specify on the form that you are making a request for an instruction session in the Tamiment Library.

Reproduction and Permissions Services

Researchers wishing copies of archival materials must fill out and sign a copy request form and tag pages to be copied with acid-free flags available at the Reference Desk. Payment is expected in advance. Copy charges for on-site researchers are 20 cents per page. For off-site researchers, copies are 30 cents per page. There is a limit of up to 250 copies, at the discretion of library staff. The Library will not copy material that is in poor condition or where legal restrictions apply. 

Tamiment holds audio recordings on CD, cassette, and reel-to-reel tape. Because of preservation concerns, user copies must be made before researchers may listen to recordings. If a researcher wishes to listen to a recording on site, there is no charge for making a user copy if one is needed. If a researcher wishes to purchase a copy of a recording for reference use outside the library, there is a $10 fee per item. Turn around time is two to three weeks. Please note that the Tamiment Library can NOT make copies of recordings for off site use unless there is a signed release form on file for the recording. For more information, please contact us at tamiment.wagner@nyu.edu.

Researchers wishing to publish images of materials in the Library's collections or quote from unpublished materials must request permission to do so in writing from library staff and the copyright holders. Contact reference staff at 212-998-2630 for details.

You may bring your own camera to the library to take still photographs of library materials for reference purposes only. All copyright laws apply. This service is free, but prior to taking reference photographs of the Tamiment's collections, researchers must fill out and sign an application form and read the accompanying guidelines.