Skip to main content

Jack Brause Library: About the Library

Guide to the services available at the Jack Brause Library at the NYU Midtown Center.

Library History

The Jack Brause Library supports all students and faculty associated with NYU programs based at the NYU Midtown Center.  In addition to the collection, the Library offers study space, a collaborative work area, computer access and research assistance. 


The Brause Library was established in 1983 as a small collection to support New York University's Real Estate Institute.  Since then, it has evolved into an impressive resource of national repute.  When the NYU School of Professional Studies introduced the Masters of Science in Real Estate Development and Investment in 1988, the Library grew as well.  Additions included expanded reference materials and an increase in print subscriptions.  While primarily supporting the NYU SPS Master's programs, the Library also remains open to New York-area real estate professionals (see Access Policy for additional information).  The Library contains material on all aspects of the real estate industry, from finance and investment to development, management, and economics.  Resources include industry forecasts, property ownership, zoning laws and maps, mortgage banking, retail leasing trends, real estate investment trusts, and real estate as a profession.


As SPS has expanded its graduate program offerings into a wide range of business areas, the Brause Library has focused its efforts on serving all NYU SPS programs based at the Midtown Center.  While our resources are increasingly offered in electronic formats, we continue to maintain and expand a collection of the print materials most crucial for supporting our Midtown students and faculty. 

Library Collection

 

The Jack Brause Library includes 2,000 volumes devoted to real estate, as well as approximately 100 current print subscriptions.  Many additional real estate resources are available electronically.  Access is provided onsite to several specialized databases devoted to the real estate industry.  A collection of market reports on many aspects of the real estate industry is available.  Although our focus is the New York metropolitan area, the Library carries many national reports as well.

The Library is committed to expanding and enhancing its collection through the addition of books, serials, and databases in all areas that support SPS programs located at the Midtown Center. Below, find some new books recently added to the collection:

 

Library Hours

Fall 2017 
Hours

Sept. 5th - Dec. 15th


Staffed Hours
Mon - Thur : 10am - 7pm
Fri : 10am - 5pm

Unstaffed Study Hours
**NYU Students Only**
**Without access to books**
Mon - Thur: 7pm - 9:45pm
Fridays: 5pm - 9:45pm
Saturdays: 10am - 5:45pm

Library CLOSED:

Monday, Sept 4: Labor Day

Nov 23-26: Thanksgiving Break

 

Search BobCat

Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.

NYU Libraries' online catalog.