Skip to main content

Jack Brause Library: Circulation Policy

Guide to the services available at the Jack Brause Library at the NYU Midtown Center.

CIRCULATION POLICY

The Jack Brause Library currently circulates a collection of books and periodicals which are housed in a closed-stack area. Anyone wishing to use library items should present their NYU ID at the service desk, as well as the name of the item and the call number.  Many of our items can be found through BobCat, the library catalogue for the NYU community.

LOAN PERIODS

• Undergraduate students must present current NYU ID to access library materials.

• Undergraduate students can borrow items from our Main Collection for 60 days, Leisure Collection for 28 days, and Videos for 2 days.  Items from our Reference collection are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed.  

• Renewal of books from our Main Collection can be made online via the "My Library Account" page on the Bobcat website.  There are no renewals for items from our LeisureVideo, or Reference collections.

• There are no fees for overdue materials.  Overdue materials that are not returned will be "Billed as Lost." Students will then be responsible for paying fines and risk blockage of all library privileges.

RESERVES

•  Reserves materials are kept behind the service desk and can be accessed during staffed hours.

•  All Reserves materials are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed, fifteen minutes before staff area closes.

•  There are no renewals for items from Reserves.

•  Materials from the collection that faculty members make available through the library will appear on BobCat under "Course Reserves."

CATALOG & DATABASES

To see if the library has a book in its collection, you can search BobCat.  BobCat is available to students on or off campus,  You will be prompted to enter your NYU credentials to access the catalog and links to research databases.  You can also visit our Real Estate Guides page.

• Graduate students must present current NYU ID to access library materials. 

• Graduate students can borrow items from our Main Collection for 120 days, Leisure Collection for 28 days, and Videos for 7 days.  Items from our Reference collection are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed.  

• Renewals of books from our Main Collection can be made online via the "My Library Account" page on the Bobcat website.  There are no renewals for items from our LeisureVideo, or Reference collections.

• There are no fees for overdue materials.  Overdue materials that are not returned will be "Billed as Lost." Students will then be responsible for paying fines and risk blockage of all library privileges.

RESERVES

•  Reserves materials are kept behind the service desk and can be accessed during staffed hours.

•  All Reserves materials are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed, fifteen minutes before staff area closes.

•  There are no renewals for items from Reserves.

•  Materials from the collection that faculty members make available through the library will appear on BobCat under "Course Reserves."

CATALOG & DATABASES

To see if the library has a book in its collection, you can search BobCat.  BobCat is available to students on or off campus,  You will be prompted to enter your NYU credentials to access the catalog and links to research databases.  You can also visit our Real Estate Guides page.

• Faculty must present current NYU ID to access library materials. 

• NYU Faculty can borrow items from our Main Collection for 120 days, Leisure Collection for 28 days, and Videos for 7 days.  Items from our Reference collection are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed.  

• Renewals of books from our Main Collection can be made online via the "My Library Account" page on the Bobcat website.  There are no renewals for items from our LeisureVideo, or Reference collections.

• There are no fees for overdue materials.  Overdue materials that are not returned will be "Billed as Lost." Students will then be responsible for paying fines and risk blockage of all library privileges.

RESERVES

•  Reserves materials are kept behind the service desk and can be accessed during staffed hours.

•  All Reserves materials are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed, fifteen minutes before staff area closes.

•  There are no renewals for items from Reserves.

•  Materials from the collection that faculty members make available through the library will appear on BobCat under "Course Reserves."

CATALOG & DATABASES

To see if the library has a book in its collection, you can search BobCat.  BobCat is available to students on or off campus,  You will be prompted to enter your NYU credentials to access the catalog and links to research databases.  You can also visit our Real Estate Guides page.

•  Staff must present current NYU ID to access library materials.

•  NYU staff can borrow items from our Main Collection for 60 days, Leisure Collection for 28 days, and Videos for 2 days.  Items from our Reference collection are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed.  

• Renewals of books from our Main Collection can be made online via the "My Library Account" page on the Bobcat website.  There are no renewals for items from our LeisureVideo, or Reference collections.

• There are no fees for overdue materials.  Overdue materials that are not returned will be "Billed as Lost." Students will then be responsible for paying fines and risk blockage of all library privileges,

RESERVES

•  Reserves materials are kept behind the service desk and can be accessed during staffed hours.

•  All Reserves materials are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed, fifteen minutes before staff area closes.

•  There are no renewals for items from Reserves.

•  Materials from the collection that faculty members make available through the library will appear on BobCat under "Course Reserves."

CATALOG & DATABASES

To see if the library has a book in its collection, you can search BobCat.  BobCat is available to students on or off campus,  You will be prompted to enter your NYU credentials to access the catalog and links to research databases.  You can also visit our Real Estate Guides page.

• Administrators must present current NYU ID to access library materials.  Almost all library materials are behind the service desk and must be requested during staffed hours.

• NYU administrators can borrow items from our Main Collection for 120 days, Leisure Collection for 28 days, and Videos for 7 days.  Items from our Reference collection are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed.  

• Renewals of books from our Main Collection can be made online via the "My Library Account" page on the BobCat website.  There are no renewals for items from our LeisureVideo, or Reference collections.

• There are no fees for overdue materials.  Overdue materials that are not returned will be "Billed as Lost." Students will then be responsible for paying fines and risk blockage of all library privileges:

RESERVES

•  Reserves materials are kept behind the service desk and can be accessed during staffed hours.

•  All Reserves materials are due back by the end of the same day as borrowed, fifteen minutes before staff area closes.

•  There are no renewals for items from Reserves.

•  Materials from the collection that faculty members make available through the library will appear in BobCat under "Course Reserves."

CATALOG & DATABASES

To see if the library has a book in its collection, you can search BobCat.  BobCat is available to students on or off campus,  You will be prompted to enter your NYU credentials to access the catalog and links to research databases.  You can also visit our Real Estate Guides page.

Currently-enrolled students from affiliated institutions (Columbia University, The New School, Cooper Union, and the New York School of Interior Design) are also entitled to access the Jack Brause Library. 

• Consortium members must present current school ID to access library materials.  Almost all library materials are behind the service desk and must be requested during staffed hours.

• Consortium members can borrow items from our Main Collection for 60 days.  Members do not have access to our ReferenceReservesLeisure, or Video Collections.

• Renewal of books from our Main Collection can be made online via the "My Library Account" page on the BobCat website.

• There are no fees for overdue materials.  Overdue materials that are not returned will be "Billed as Lost." Students will then be responsible for paying fines and risk blockage of all library privileges.  No daily overdue fines (unless recalled*). Books will be "Billed As Lost" after 30 days overdue, resulting in a fine of $125.00. Returns after that time will reduce this fine to $30.00.

*Books in the MAIN COLLECTION are subject to RECALL at any time, with a new due date set fourteen days from the time of recall. Any RECALLED book returned after this new due date will be subject to a fine of $2 per day.

In addition to serving the active NYU community, the Jack Brause Library is also accessible, by advance appointment, to alumni of the NYU real estate degree programs (Schack Institute, formerly the Real Estate Institute). 

Alumni may request to use available library resources on-site.

In addition to serving the active NYU community, the Jack Brause Library is also accessible, by advance appointment, to both licensed real estate professionals (brokers, appraisers, and salespeople).  Please check our Access Policy for additional details on how to make an appointment.

Visitors must request to use our resources and will only be available to use on-site.

Loading

RENEWALS

You can view the due dates and renew most items on your library account.

There are no renewals for items in our Leisure, VideoReserves or Reference collection.

FINES

Main & Leisure Collections No daily overdue fines (unless recalled*). Books will be "Billed As Lost" after 30 days overdue, resulting in a fine of $125.00. Returns after that time will reduce this fine to $30.00
Video Collection Videos will be "Billed As Lost" after 9 (NINE) days overdue, resulting in a fine of $125.00. Returns after that time will reduce this fine to $30.00
Reference & Reserves Collections Reference Books and Reserve Materials will be "Billed As Lost" after TWO (2) days overdue, resulting in a fine of $125.00. Returns after that time will reduce this fine to $30.00. If a patron returns these materials late more than once, library privileges will be blocked at the Jack Brause Library for the remainder of the semester.  
*Books in the MAIN COLLECTION are subject to RECALL at any time, with a new due date set fourteen days from the time of recall. Any RECALLED book returned after this new due date will be subject to a fine of $2 per day.
 

 

For more information on fines, please click here.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN (ILL)/E-Z BORROW

For information on how to find items not available at the Jack Brause Library, please click here.

RETURNS

For information on returning library items, please click here.