Skip to main content

Applied Psychology: Articles/Databases

This guide organizes the most important resources for students in Steinhardt's Applied Psychology programs.

About this page

The article literature is central to the work of researchers and practitioners in applied psychology. The article databases listed here allow you to search the contents of thouands of journals simultaneously. Depending upon which direction your research takes you, you may need to use multiple databases to get a complete idea of the literature on your topic.

3 Things to Remember!

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" for your records, organize it, and make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources, so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks, which you can learn about here.

Core and Related Article Databases

Additional Drama Therapy Databases

For additional literature related drama therapy, please see the databases below as well as the following research guides:

Using Google Scholar?

See Google Scholar Search Tips to learn how to link into NYU Libraries' full-text subscriptions via Google Scholar.

Looking for a Specific Article?

If you're looking for the full text of a known citation, use the library's Journals search page.

Enter the article's citation information or just the article's journal title if you don't have the rest.  If you have the article's DOI (Digital Object Identifier), even better!

When you hit SEARCH, a pop-up window will appear with full-text database links that you can use to find the article's PDF.

What does "peer reviewed" mean?