Symptom Media's Mental Health Education and Training Film Library offers online clinical training vignettes guided by the DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition), ICD-9 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Health Problems, Ninth Revision), and ICD-10 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Health Problems, Tenth Revision), as well as other real-life behavioral health case scenarios. These streaming videos illustrate symptoms unfolding on screen, serving as an educational tool for “symptom recognition” and providing visual tools that facilitate diagnosing of mental illnesses.
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, which have had far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts. For added context, it also includes primary- and secondary-source texts, such as notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, and final reports. Notable topics include obedience, authority, conformity, and operant conditioning.
Counseling and Therapy Video & Transcript Databases
Psychotherapy.net provides training videos in psychotherapy, counseling, and addiction treatment. This online streaming video collection covers a wide variety of tools and techniques from a broad selection of psychotherapeutic approaches, making it an useful resource for the purposes of teaching, training, self-study, and continuing education in mental health-related fields.
Counseling and Therapy in Video contains training videos, reenactments, and footage of actual therapy sessions conducted by renowned psychiatrists, psychologists, and social workers. These online streaming videos are designed for training and continuing education, providing an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. The collection provides grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
APA PsycNET is an integrated collection of databases from the American Psychological Association (APA), including the following: PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, PsycTESTS, PsycTHERAPY, PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsycEXTRA.
PsycINFO, the most popular database in PsycNET, is a bibliographic index covering core literature in the psychological and behavioral sciences and their related disciplines. PsycBOOKS includes online versions of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series, as well as other ebooks and online encyclopedias published by APA. PsycTESTS is a source of structured information about psychological tests and measures as well as a repository for the full text of select instruments. PsycTHERAPY provides access to streaming psychotherapy demonstration videos.
Altogether, PsycNET provides information about and access to journal articles, books & ebooks, dissertations, conference presentations, tests & measures, videos, gray literature, and many other other publication types in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
To search only a specific database (e.g., PsycINFO) within the PsycNET interface, use the "Select Databases" features at the top of the PsycNET landing page and check (or uncheck) the database(s) that apply. To access PsycTHERAPY, click on its hyperlinked title.
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEP or PEP-Web) is searchable online database of psychoanalytic journals, books, and videos in English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Spanish and Turkish. It contains, among other things, the full text of classic works, such as all 24 volumes of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud as well as the 18-volume German Freud Standard Edition, Gesammelte Werke: Chronologisch Geordnet. PEP has been extended to include a video platform, which showcases films and videos. All spoken material in the videos has been transcribed to text and is integrated and fully searchable with the existing journal and book archive.
SAGE Video contains streaming video collections in the social sciences, created for use across higher education. SAGE Video combines originally commissioned material with licensed videos in the areas of Education, Media, Communication and Cultural Studies, and Counseling & Psychotherapy.
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos, offering colleges, schools, hospitals, corporates and other educational institutions a comprehensive, one-stop shop for all their streaming video needs.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works is a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. There are diaries, letters, autobiographies, oral histories, and personal memoirs along with the full text of therapy and counseling sessions themselves. All accounts are non-fiction, delivered in the first person and, where possible, contemporaneous.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II provides transcripts of actual counseling and therapy sessions, which give a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them. This collection adheres to the American Psychological Association’s Ethics Guidelines for use and anonymity.
Links to Streaming Versions of Titles in Applied Psychology Department's Video Library
Below is an alphabetical list of titles found in the Department of Applied Psychology's DVD library along with direct links to their streaming versions.
**Please copy and paste the link below the video's title to provide access to NYU students either on-campus or off-campus.
ADHD in the Classroom(with Russell Barkley) URL to cut & paste and share with students: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1641090
Assessing ADHD in the Schools (with Russell Barkley) URL to cut & paste and share with students: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=http://nyu.kanopystreaming.com/video/assessing-adhd-schools
Basic Attending Skills (CD1 and CD2) URL to cut & paste and share with students: CD1: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1666925
Brief Counseling: The Basic Skills URL to cut & paste and share with students: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/526246
Classroom Interventions for ADHD (with Russell Barkley, George J. DuPaul, and Gary Stoner) URL to cut & paste and share with students: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2048/login?url=http://nyu.kanopystreaming.com/video/classroom-interventions-adhd