Skip to main content

Environmental Conservation Education: Background Information

This guide collects useful resources for students in Steinhardt's Environmental Conservation Education program

About this page

Reference resources are a great way to get started with your research. They can help you gather fast facts about a topic, focus your argument, and find lists of further readings written by experts in the field. Use the indexes and tables of contents to understand what you will find in each and go from there. These are all common resources and most will also be available at a large public library.

Education background

Encyclopedia of Education, James W. Guthrie, Ed. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002.

Education statistics of the United States, Bernan Press, 2001.

Encyclopedia of American Education, by Harlow G. Unger. New York, Facts on File, 1996.
Bobst Ref1 LB17 .U54 1996

Encyclopedia of Educational Research, 6th ed. New York, Macmillan, 1992.
Bobst Ref1 LB15 .E48 1992


Urban Education: a Reference Handbook, by Kathy L. Adams. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2003.
Bobst Ref1 LC5131 .A33 2003

Environmental issues background

Encyclopedia of Global Change

Encyclopedia of Ecotourism (via Ebook Central)

Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia

Annual Reviews

Environmental Encyclopedia

Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment: QH540.4.C65 1998

A Dictionary of Ecology: QH540.4.C66 2005 (reference)

A Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics: QH540.4.L56 1998 (reference)

The VNR Dictionary of Environmental Health and Safety: RA566.D53 1994 (reference)

Dictionary of Environmental Health: RA566.W68 2003 (reference)

The Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies: QH540.4.A84 1991

Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology: QH540.4.E52 1995 v.1-3 

The Water Encyclopedia: TD351.V36 1990