Skip to main content

Graphic Novels and Comics: Home

A guide for students and researchers interested in comics and graphic novels

Welcome!

This is a selective guide to some of the many resources available for Graphic Novels and Comics research. This page will be your gateway to books, journal articles, video, and web resources. If you have any problems, just click on the Chat with me link, email me or just stop by my office. I'm here to help!

Here are a few other subject guides that will be of interest to you:

Grand Comics Database

The Grand Comics Database (GCD) is an ongoing international project to build a detailed comic-book database that will be easy to use and understand, and also easy for contributors to add information to it. This fully searchable and sortable database includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information useful to the comic-book reader, fan, collector, and scholar.

The Digital Comic Museum

The mission of The Digital Comic Museum is to provide as close to a free resource as possible where users can easily download public domain golden age comics without the need to ask or worry about searching the net for them. 

Panel to the Screen: The History of American Comic Adaptations

GOOD GRIEF! Children and Comics: A Collection of Companion Essays

 
In connection with the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum's new exhibit on children's comics, we offer you seven original essays on children's comics to act as the exhibit's  catalog and companion.
 
The electronic book contains essays on the emergence of children's comics in the US, Calvin and Hobbes, orphanhood and superheroes, LumberjanesBone, the crossover between the editorial page and the funny pages, and Maus as a work suitable for high school students.
 
The essays are peer-reviewed, but we made a point of guiding the authors toward prose that would be accessible to newcomers to the field.  We hope that they'll be useful to you in your own research and teaching.
 
Here's a link to the host page, where you can download the pdf for free:
 

Michigan State University Podcast series

                  

The Michigan State University Comic Art and Graphic Novel Podcast has launched.

The episodes will run monthly throughout the academic year (Sept-May), go dark in the summer (Jun-Aug), and return again each academic year.

The main portion is an in-depth interview with a professional cartoonist, focusing on their artistic history, working process, and works in process.  We also touch on comics events around MSU and interview our recurring guest, Randy Scott (MSU Special Collections Comics Bibliographer) to get a glimpse into the world's largest public collection of comic books.

Reference Associate

Laurie Murphy's picture
Laurie Murphy
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
212 998-2603

Society of Illustrators/Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art (MoCCA)

Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art is incorporated into of the Society of Illustrators. The purpose of MoCCA is the collection, preservation, study, education, and display of comic and cartoon art. Every genre of the art is represented: animation, anime, cartoons, comic books, comic strips, gag cartoons, humorous illustration, illustration, political illustration, editorial cartoons, caricature, graphic novels, sports cartoons, and computer-generated art. Further, the museum's rigid collection policy ensures that the art collections are maintained in an environment of the highest integrity.

Larry King interview with Stan Lee

Larry King interviews Stan  Lee for his new show Larry King Now