Skip to main content

Graphic Novels and Comics: Finding Books

A guide for students and researchers interested in comics and graphic novels

New in the Stacks

A selection of books from the stacks

A brief selection of scholarship related to Graphic Novels and Comics that are located in the stacks.

Become a better researcher - try using Subject Headings

In addition to keyword searching, or searching by title and author, you may search Bobcat by subject heading, in order to make use of the catalog's controlled vocabulary. Subject headings are assigned to published material by the Library of Congress. They can be very broad, consisting of one word, for example, graphic novels or comic books, but they also tend to link terms together, specifying what a work is about according to theme, period, geographical region, etc. Examples of more specific subject headings include:

 Graphic novels -- United States

 Comic books, strips, etc

 Spiegelman, Art -- Comic books, strips, etc

 Hergé, 1907-1983

 Cartoonists -- United States -- Biography

 Comic books, strips, etc -- United States -- History and criticism

 Superheroes -- United States

 Graphic novels -- Authorship

 Comic books, strips, etc -- Moral and ethical aspects

To locate the subject headings for a specific work in Bobcat, click on the "details" link in the item record. 

Recommend a title for purchase

Have you heard about a great graphic novel, but found that it is not available at Bobst?  You can now recommend that a copy be purchased for the collection. 

Bobst Leisure Reading Collection

Need to step away from academic reading for a while?  Well, that's what the Leisure Reading       Collection is for!  The Leisure Reading Collection is leased, not purchased like the academic collection at Bobst, so we are able to keep up to date with the latest NY Times best-sellers and other popular titles.  The Leisure Reading Collection contains a wide variety of genres: fiction, non-fiction, mystery, crime, science fiction, biography, romance, and graphic novels.  There's something for everyone! 

If you would like to know if we have a specifc title in the Leisure Collection, you can use the Course Reserves tab in Bobcat to search by title or author.  If you prefer to browse, the collection is located on the two lower levels of the library.    

Search other catalogs

Need to find something we don't have here at Bobst?  Need to research editions of a specific work?  Worldcat to the rescue!  Worldcat allows you to search for material beyond what we have available here at Bobst. 

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Bobst doesn't have it? Use Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service which helps eligible patrons obtain materials that are unavailable in the New York University or consortium libraries.

Ebrary

Ebook Central contains more than 40,000 full-text books in a variety of subject areas including graphic novels and comics.  You will have the ability to search, highlight, annotate books on Ebook Central as well as print or download portions of the texts.