Skip to main content

Graphic Novels and Comics: Finding Articles via databases

A guide for students and researchers interested in comics and graphic novels

Finding Articles via Databases

General databases contain content from a variety of subject areas as well as a number of different publication types.  They will allow you to look at your topic from a wide perspective and gather information from a variety of sources. 

Be sure to use the search refinements each database may offer, including: date, document type, and source type.

Unlike the general databases, literature (or any subject) specific databases generally focus solely on journal articles as a publication type and do not have a broad, multidisciplinary approach.

In addition looking at Graphic Novels and Comics from a literary perspective, it is helpful to broaden your research and venture into other disciplines.  Here is a brief list of databases that may enhance your research:

Loading

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is the first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.

 

Cartoon America: online exhibition

    James Arthur Wood, Jr., began collecting original cartoon art as a childhood hobby. Wood worked diligently throughout his professional life as an editorial cartoonist to showcase his collection. He ultimately turned to the Library of Congress to preserve and present his collection to the American people and the world. The Library's Art Wood Collection of Cartoon and Caricature contains more than 36,000 original cartoon drawings. The 102 drawings selected for this exhibition reflect Woods primary collecting interests and the vitality of an innovative and evolving art form

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool

Wonderfully Vulgar - British comics 1873 to 1939

The online exhibition "Wonderfully Vulgar" presents a selection of British comics from the 1870s (the Ally Sloper era) to the 1930s (knockabout comics). The phrase "wonderfully vulgar" used in the exhibition title is taken from an interview in which Charlie Chaplin recalled his pleasure in reading comics as a boy in 1890s London.

The exhibition is based on a collection of around 5000 historical British comics housed in the Library (BIS) of the University of Oldenburg in Germany.