Skip to main content

Advanced Google Searching: Google Scholar

Guide to advanced search features in Google and to Google Scholar and Google Books.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

Now you can link into NYU Libraries' full-text subscriptions via Google Scholar!  

 

1. Go to scholar.google.com and click on Settings, which is the gear icon in the upper right-hand portion of the screen.

 




2. Click on Library links in the left-hand menu. 

 

 

 




3. Search for NYU and select only New York University Libraries - GetIt@NYU.




4. Hit Save and conduct a search in Scholar.  C
lick the GetIt@NYU link attached to each search result, which contains full-text links to Bobst Library's subscriptions.  If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your NetID and password before being granted access to the full text.



 
5. For additional Google Scholar search tips, check out our Advanced Google Searching guide.

Google Scholar Strengths and Weaknesses

Google Scholar Strengths Google Scholar Weaknesses
  • Getting the "big picture" of the scholarly discourse around a topic.
  • Viewing books, articles, conference proceedings, and more in one list.
  • Determining authors and publications in an area of interest.
  • Tracking down incomplete citations.
  • Limiting and sorting results by type (eg. peer reviewed articles, full-text, reviews).
  • Searching within a specific discipline
  • Browsing by journal title.
  • Doing a comprehensive search for a literature review.
  • Using controlled vocabulary to search by subject.
  • Emailing lists of search results.

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature in a simple, familiar way. You can search across many disciplines and sources at once to find articles, books, theses, court opinions, and content from academic publishers, professional societies, some academic web sites, and more. See the Google Scholar inclusion guidelines for more about what’s in Google Scholar. Click here for a list of strengths and weaknesses.

Search Google Scholar

Keep in mind that Google Scholar does NOT search all of NYU's licensed databases. To do a comprehensive search, use the databases in your subject area or choose a database from our alphabetical list.

Try a search:

Google Scholar

Advanced Search Tips

For more precise searching, use the Advanced Scholar Search Page, or try these tips:

Find content by an author:

  • Add the author's name to the search, or
  • Use the "author:" operator (eg. aphasia author:jones finds articles about aphasia written by people named Jones)

Search for a phrase:

Search by words in the title:

  • Use the "intitle:" operator (eg. intitle:fellini finds articles with Fellini in the title]

Want more search tips?