Ancestry Library Edition provides access to billions of names by aggregating a variety of genealogical databases, immigration records, census surveys, passenger lists, religious registries, and UK and Ireland records.
The Geolytics Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level, with the option to access data for all four decades normalized to 2010 tract boundaries. Users can download data as if the 2010 tracts existed, and all the data is weighted to these areas. Variables include population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and others. Users can export data in .dbf, ASCII, shapefile, or mid/mif files.
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing data variables. Users have access to demographics, marketing data, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data), market segments, health, and business points for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can also export data, maps, reports and shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics.
Users are not required to log-in with a user name and password; however, in order to save your work, it is recommended that you create your own user account. SimplyMap user accounts are still functional in the SimplyAnalytics interface.
Social Explorer contains access to U.S. Census data dating back to 1790. Users can create maps and embed them as objects or download static images.
To access Social Explorer, create a user account from your campus and sign in. You may then access the Professional Edition of Social Explorer from any location using your account. If you have questions about authenticating your NYU Social Explorer account from off-campus, please contact Data Services.
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2012. These samples, which draw on every surviving census from 1850-2000, and the 2000-2012 ACS samples, collectively constitute our richest source of quantitative information on long-term changes in the American population. However, because different investigators created these samples at different times, they employed a wide variety of record layouts, coding schemes, and documentation. This has complicated efforts to use them to study change over time. The IPUMS assigns uniform codes across all the samples and brings relevant documentation into a coherent form to facilitate analysis of social and economic change.
ICPSR is a social science repository that includes curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. ICPSR contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications. The archive also includes data-driven learning guides for those teaching with data.
Users must create a MyData account from an NYU-owned computer and log on to it at least once every six months to download data. If you need help accessing your ICPSR account, contact Andrew Battista.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets aggregates datasets sourced from reputable public and private organizations, such as OECD, the United Nations, and the U.S. Census. It covers topics across many subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, trade, housing and construction. Users can create custom extracts and download files in delimited, SAS, or shapefile formats.