The following reference books, which are available in the Tamiment Library's reading room, are useful for finding background information on the people, organizations, places, events, themes, publications, culture, and ideas related to anarchism.
To find others, search BobCat, NYU's library catalog.
- Anarchist Periodicals in English Published in the United States (1833-1955) / Ernesto A. Longa. Lanham: The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2010. A stellar new reference work covering 100 periodicals. Entries include title, issues examined, subtitle, editor, publication information, contributors, features and subjects, preceding and subsequent titles, and OCLC numbers. Selected articles are cited in each entry. Topical coverage (i.e., the Haymarket Affair, Child Labor, or the Assassination of Carlo Tresca) is included for many titles where warranted. Includes a bibliography, subject index and names index.
- Anarchist Thinkers and Thought: An Annotated Bibliography, compiled and edited by Paul Nursey-Bray with the assistance of Jom Jose and Robyn Williams (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992).
- Encyclopedia of the American Left 2nd ed. Mari Jo Buhle, Paul Buhle, and Dan Georgakas. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. Includes articles on the people, organizations, movements and events related to labor and the Left in the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Political Anarchy. Santa Barbara, CA.: ABC-CLIO, 1999. "Covering political anarchy worldwide for the past 300 years, the book also examines the ancient roots of the movement, spotlights key individuals, and explores important groups, organizations, events, laws, legal cases, and theories."
- Databases by Subject: Labor & The Left. A number of databases in this subject category will be useful for researchers looking for background information on anarchism.
- Yiddish Anarchist Bibliography. London : Kate Sharpley Library ; Cambridge, MA : Anarchist Archives Project.
