Skip to main content

Tropicália!: Reference Sources

A guide to the Brazilian cultural movement known as Tropicália and its legacy. Resources covering the music itself, linkages to other art forms, and scholarship on the movement are all included.

Getting Started

"Tropicália"

Tropicália

  • Excerpt from Brutality Garden: Tropicália and the Emergence of a Brazilian Counterculure (2001) by Christopher Dunn

Caetano Veloso (1968)

Online Reference

  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

    The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples and the most complete body of work focused on world music.

  • Grove Music Online

    Grove Music Online is been the leading online resource for music research, offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. (2001), as well as The Oxford Companion to Music (2011) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd ed. (2006).

Print Sources

Enciclopédia Da Música Brasileira. 2000.

  • Bobst Music Reference (ML101.B7 E53 2000b v.1-4)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. 2000.

  • Bobst 1st Floor Reference (F1406 .E515 2000 Non-circulating v.1-3)

The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music2008.

  • Bobst Main Collection (ML199 .G36 2008 1 book)

Guia De Mbp Em Cd : Uma Discoteca Básica Da Música Popular Brasileira2000.

  • Bobst Music Reference (ML156.4.P6 M44 2000 Non-circulating)

Subject Librarian

Angela Carreño's picture
Angela Carreño
Contact:
Bobst Library

Mezzanine

(212) 998-2606