Skip to main content

International Labour Organization: Accessing & Using the Collection

Research guide to the International Labour Organizaton collection at Bobst Library.

Access Information

  • The International Labour Organization Collection is located on the west side of the 6th floor in Bobst Library.
  • It is open whenever the stacks are open (see Library Hours). Please see below for details on accessing the building.
  • Members of the general public can obtain access to the NYU's UN and Int'l Documents between the hours of 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
  • To gain access to the building, please bring photo ID to the Library Privileges window, which is to the left as you enter Bobst Library. Tell the representative that you would like to use the UN/Int'l Documents Collection, the representative will then give you a pass to use the collection. You'll need to drop off your pass on the 5th floor in room 510.
  • Appointments are recommended, but not required. You may request an appointment by emailing intl.doc@nyu.edu or using Ask a LibrarianAppointments are generally available between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Loading

What are indexes?

You can use indexes to find appropriate document symbols for official UN documents.

What are document symbols?

In Bobst Library, official UN documents are arranged by official document symbols, which consist of a combination of letters and numbers with each element separated from the next by a stroke (/). For example: A/52/100 is a General Assembly document from the fifty-second session. For more information on how to read official documents symbols go to the UN Documents Research Guide.

Can I find everything cataloged in Bobcat?

No. There is a certain amount of uncatalogued material that is physically present in the collection.  Users may go up to the collection to search for an item if they are not finding it in Bobcat.