Research Guides: Finding New York City Information : Where to Start?

NYU Databases

The following databases are useful for finding data and statistical information for New York City:

New York City Census FactFinder
The New York City Census FactFinder provides quick and easy access to population information from the 2000 U.S. Census.
American FactFinder
Gateway/Portal to 2010 US Census data, including population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Also includes American Community Survey, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Annual Economic Surveys.
Index to Current Urban Documents
Contains over 27,000 reports generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies from more than 500 major cities in the United States and Canada. The core of the collection are fiscal (budgets and financial reports) and architecture & planning documents (city, county and regional plans). The Index also provides information for all urban-related issues, from hazardous waste disposal to arts in the community
New York Times, 1980-present (via ProQuest)
Full-text coverage of the New York Times, 1980 to present.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded. NYU subscribes to Social Explorer premium service, which includes full tract and country-level historical datasets.
To access Social Explorer, create a user account after signing in to NYU's SSO. If you have questions about authenticating your NYU Social Explorer account from off-campus, please contact Data Services.

Infoshare Online
Contains data files that are obtained from city, state, and federal government agencies.
State Stats
This resource provides comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years. You can further explore the data with graphing tools, compare it with other data sets, or export it to Excel

New York City Community Districts Profiles

Community District Profiles contain demographic data and information on public and private schools, parks, public safety, health, mental health and other social service facilities, and census tract boundaries are shown on maps and a variety of population characteristics from the 2010 Census.

New York City Gov't Organizational Chart

New York City Organization Chart
Click here to zoom in.

For a complete chart click below: