Skip to main content

NYU Classes: Adding Library Resources: Linking to AUDIOS and VIDEOS

Creating a reading list of NYU Libraries sources

Adding Audio and Video

Before generating links to audio and video resources, we suggest creating a Audio & Video subfolder within the Resources folder of NYU Classes. Follow the directions for creating a Reading List folder (except name the folder Audio & Video).

NYU Libraries subscribes to several online audio and video collections. You can add musical or video selections to your NYU Classes course by following these basic instructions:

  1. Go to an online audio or video collection
  2. Search for your audio/video selection.
  3. Copy the link for the selection. See database-specific methods below for instructions on finding the link.
  4. In NYU Classes, past the link into your "Audio & Video" folder.

Database-Specific Methods For Finding Static or Persistent Links

Naxos Music Online/Naxos Jazz

  1. Search for your selection
  2. Click on the Static URL button in the player on the left-hand side.  This will display the static link beneath the selection.  Copy this link. EXAMPLE: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:3287/stream.asp?s=51890%2Fnyunml05%2Fqb7324%5F001

American Song/Classical Music Library/Jazz Music Library/Contemporary World Music/Smithsonian Global Sound/Opera in Video/Theatre in Video/Dance in Video

  1. Search for your selection
  2. Click on the Embed Link at the top of the page.
  3. Right click* to copy this link.

    EXAMPLE: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:24068/View/755427

*You must right click or control click (Mac) in order to bring over the full URL which includes information that will allow off-campus access.

DRAM Online

  1. Search for your music selection
  2. In the results, click on the linked title/album. (Do not click on Play)
  3. This will take you to a page with information about the track.  Copy the URL in the browser address bar and prepend the following URL to enable off-campus access: https://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=

    EXAMPLE: https://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=http://www.dramonline.org/albums/alice-symphony.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive

  1. Search for your video selection*
  2. In the results, click on the title/newscast (Do not click on the camera to play).
  3. This will take you to a page with information about the broadcast. Right-click** to copy the URL in the "Link to URL" section

    EXAMPLE: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:2593/program.pl?ID=961118

*Video is not available for all broadcasts in the Vanderbilt Television News Archive. Only those broadcasts displaying a camera provide streaming video.

**You must right click or control click (Mac) in order to bring over the full URL which includes information that will allow off-campus access.

Access World News

  1. Search for your video selection
  2. At the bottom of the page containing your video, copy the link in the To Bookmark this article gray box by right-clicking on the link and selecting "copy link'.

    EXAMPLE: http://ezproxy.library.nyu.edu:10997/openurl?ctx_ver=z39.88-2004&rft_id=info:sid/iw.newsbank.com:AWNB:A1WVM&rft_val_format=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&rft_dat=12EACB5A8B02A638&svc_dat=InfoWeb:aggregated5&req_dat=0D0CB53C6F0321C0